The Doctor Is In

The Doctor Is In

Who wouldn’t want to spend their Saturday morning in the dentist’s chair? Personally, as cracked-out as it sounds, I was incredibly thankful for the Saturday appointment – it meant I didn’t have to reschedule work stuff (for either job), and it was easy enough to get off of the volunteer schedule. To be honest, I didn’t even know Saturday appointments were a “thing;” they just suggested it when I called, and I agreed.

I’d forgotten just how much I love the staff at this office – everyone is exceedingly polite and has a sense of humor, and they make what most people dread (the dentist) sort of fun. They even have colorful murals painted on all the walls to distract patients from the torture that’s going on in their mouths. 🙂

The appointment went fairly well, and there were no real surprises. Turns out I was 100% right to start taking antibiotics, because what was once just a simple cavity got deeper and eventually got infected. That was the cause of all my pain, and most likely why I’ve felt like death for the past week. Now it’s not looking good for that tooth, but that’s something I’m going to have to deal with next week. In the meantime, there’s no more pain, so I have a little leeway/there’s less urgency. I also seem to have lost a filling in one of my molars somewhere along the way, so I have to go back next month to re-fill that one. Otherwise, the ole chompers look good and nothing else was wrong. Not my best appointment ever, but probably not the worst. The worst, I’m sure, will come likely next week when I have to go to a different dentist/surgeon to figure out a plan for the evil infected tooth. My dentist said we could work to keep the tooth and hope for the best, but that it’s in my best interest long-term to extract it and get a tooth implant. I’ve only ever had to have wisdom teeth extracted, so I’m not sure I love this idea… but it’s likely what I’ll go with since I like planning for long-term instead of for right now. Hopefully, if I do end up going that route, they’ll give me plenty of drugs. 🙂

Meantime, I have to go to work tonight, and then tomorrow I have the morning and much of the afternoon off (I hope) for myself. I’m not sure what to do with all that time, but I’m sure I can find something to do! I kind of miss my little fur-brothers, and I don’t know if I can wait a couple more weeks to see them – tomorrow might be a good candidate for puppy playtime. 🙂

Happy Saturday!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Doctor Is In

  1. Nothing Personal says:

    I’m no expert, but from my experiences, an infected tooth can be treated with a root canal (believe me, those aren’t as bad as people make them out to be–I actually don’t mind them). And if this tooth is fully intact, I don’t see why it would have to be extracted. They could do a root canal and put a crown on it.

    But, again, I’m no expert (just sharing my personal experiences, which, sadly, are a lot).

    Like

Leave a Reply

