Back In The Archives

Back In The Archives

For some reason, the folks in charge of volunteer stuff keep allowing me (nay, encouraging me) to train people in new positions. Tonight I had a fun evening filled with “orienting” a friend to a leadership position, and in the process, I gave her my super special secret tour of the building. That snazzy tour included things that a lot of regular folk haven’t seen, including the basement where the awesome historical stuff is stored.

We both had way too much fun for something that was supposed to be serious, but by the time we left, we both felt confident that she’s going to rock the leadership role and she’s super-excited to get started.

I think I’m going to make my super special secret tour a signature of my sessions – it’s a nice way to make people feel like they’re being let in on a secret and let them know we trust them to make good decisions. Plus, it allows me to be nosy and get a better look at the historical documents we have in the office. Tonight we found pictures from deployments to Hurricane Katrina, and we were both absolutely fascinated by them.

I have another (totally different) new volunteer orientation happening on Wednesday, and I’m on my own to lead that one as well. I think I could get used to being the person everyone has to meet in order to become a volunteer – it makes it so much easier to be a mentor, and let’s face it, I’ve already been told by a few people that I’m famous in the organization. May as well make it true, right? 😉

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back In The Archives

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

