Coworking

Coworking

I took the term coworking to new levels today, as I left my regular office early and headed directly to the volunteer office and took over one of their “huddle rooms” for an afternoon conference call. It was really the most ideal situation ever – I was able to do my real work while multitasking and working on volunteer stuff, all while not having to fight traffic to get to the office in time for a new volunteer orientation. Plus, after my meetings were over, I had the chance to catch up with someone I rarely get to see for a couple hours, and managed to snag some new things, such as a fancy new “official” email address, and access to a couple computer programs. Any time someone willingly gives me more access, I’m a happy girl. It shows they trust me, n’at. šŸ™‚

The new volunteer orientation went SOOOO AWESOME! It was a smaller group than last time (4 people today), but I was riding solo as the instructor. I freaking love these new people already, and I’m so pumped that they’re joining our group. They seemed really excited as well, so I’m hoping I’m starting a trend. So far, a large amount of our trainees from last month’s session have gotten on the on-call schedule, and (not to brag… ok, maybe I’m bragging a little) all of my mentees are fully engaged and absolutely KILLING it. I’m really hoping that all 4 of these newbies get onto the schedule soon so that everyone else can see just how amazing they are.

And sure, to switch gears, I have thoughts about last night’s election and I was trying to put my thoughts into words all day long, but I’m opting out of political commentary. What I will say is that it’s now more important than ever for everyone to do as much good as they possibly can. By helping prepare four more trainees to assist people in their time of need, I did my part tonight (and I’m on-call until 6am, so there’s always room for more!). Tomorrow is a new day and a new opportunity to show the world that we are made of love.

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coworking

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

