The Takeover

The Takeover

Today was pretty decent, for the most part. Work went well – I was busy, but not too busy, and I got a lot accomplished.

I had a very positive Facebook experience, which is something that hasn’t really happened in months. A friend of a friend who lives in another state posted a message about how lonely he is and how he’s trying to stay sober and wants someone to talk to, but he’s new to the area and doesn’t know anyone. I just so happened to catch the exchange, and noticed that he lives in a city where I have a really awesome and empathetic friend from college. So even though I’ve never even heard the man’s name before, I sent a message to my friend asking if she wouldn’t mind reaching out, and she was more than happy to. Now she has a new friend, the guy has at least a little bit of a support system in his city, and I was able to reconnect with an old friend. Plus, my friend connected me with one of her friends that might be moving to Pittsburgh soon, so now he has a new friend as well (in me). I love that my friends are actively willing to cooperate and make the world a little smaller and a little better. ❤

Our volunteer team lead meeting went really well, and I was happy to see some of my favorite people. I got a few kudos from the management types for the work I’ve been doing, and someone even mentioned, “If you want to be on the schedule as a supervisor and not have to lift a finger, get on it when Lindsay’s the team lead.” Sounds like I have a little bit of a reputation to uphold. 🙂

The meeting ended a little early, and I had some action items I wanted to follow up on ASAP, so for the second day in a row, I commandeered an office. This just might become a regular thing – and in fact, I was told in the meeting that I’m welcome to use their office as my office whenever I like. In reality, they’re probably tired of me texting to ask if it’s okay if I take over a room, but I’ll take it however I can get it. So I guess I have a new office! 😉

And finally, we had volleyball. It was not great. It was actually the exact opposite of great. BUT, I guess I can’t have a day where everything goes right, can I?

Tomorrow I have my first day completely off from everything (full-time job, bartending, volunteering, etc) since I can’t remember when. I had plans, but then I realized I have some things to do in the evening, so I can’t stray too far. I have no idea what to do with myself (maybe NOTHING), and it’s a good (but scary) feeling to have. So there may be a bit of a delay on tomorrow’s post, just a heads-up. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Takeover

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

  2. Nothing Personal says:

    Breakfast? Im off too.

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      The trying to eat healthier thing limits me in terms of eating out. Probably doesn’t have to, but I’m not quite at the stage where I feel comfortable asking for veggies instead of toast, or something equally ludicrous. 🙂

      I’m hoping to sleep in (or sleep, in general – I offered myself up as a backup for our new WIC on the schedule), and then I’ll probably spend the morning debating whether I want to do nothing at all or all of the things. In the end, I won’t be surprised if I end up at the chapter since I’m incapable of truly not doing anything all day. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

