Five Things Friday: 11/11/16 Edition

First off, a big thank you to our veterans and active service men and women for fighting for our freedoms. I doubt any of you read this, but if so, thank you. ❤

Today is my first day off from all the things since our August/September vacation to Myrtle Beach. (Literally, in my calendar, it reads in gigantic letters “OFF FROM ALL THE THINGS,” which caused some snort-laughing from the people sitting beside me at yesterday’s volunteer meeting when I opened up my calendar to take notes.) Even while I was on vacation, though, I was following up with volunteer stuff, so I guess it wasn’t truly off. Same with today – I’ve been working on some back-end stuff this morning. Still, it beats real work any day of the week.

Since I have my first full day off in seemingly forever, I have a lot of things I want to do, but I’m not going to be able to do them all. I wanted to go to Ohio to use up a hotel gift certificate I’d won at my 2nd job’s belated Christmas party earlier this year, but that didn’t work out. Then I was going to go to Ohio just for part of the day, to visit World Market and a Costco that sells wine. That didn’t work out, either. I also considered Erie (for Wegmans and my seltzer fixation) and going to my parents’ house, but neither of those are going to work. Instead of traveling, I’m taking the opportunity to cross a couple things off of my 16 in ’16 list today – I’ve made plans with a friend to figure out how to eat crab legs, and I have a ticket to tonight’s 21+ Night at Carnegie Science Center. The day isn’t turning out how I’d envisioned, but it sounds like it’s going to be a fun day anyway. 🙂

  1. Currently Reading: I’m being totally transparent here – I haven’t so much as glanced at a book this entire week, so I’m still in the same place I was last week with Wheat Belly Total Health. Slacker. But for real, training volunteers is draining work (even though it’s super-fun), and I’ve been exhausted every night this week. Whoops.
  2. Currently Eating: I made grain-free biscuits from the Wheat Belly cookbook (obtained at the libary), and I’ve been working my way through them for the past week. They’re kind of just meh, they’re really not all that great. BUT, they’re useful for bringing back my coveted egg white sandwiches, so that makes me happy.

    Further enforcing my paranoia that more people know about this blog than I realize, we had a mostly grain-free dinner again at last night’s volunteer meeting. We had hot sausage meatballs (which, sure, probably had some grain in them, but not much), roasted veggies, green beans almondine, salad, and dinner rolls. Clearly, I avoided the dinner rolls. The rest of the meal, though, was pretty darn good. In order to quell my paranoia, I’m telling myself that maybe the person ordering the catering is trying to eat healthier as well, and it’s just a coincidence. I’m so weird about this blog stuff.

    Finally, today I hope to try breaking open my first crab legs. A friend and I are meeting up at Hokkaido for a late lunch, and I’ve been told they have crab legs on their buffet. This also marks my first buffet since doing the grain-free thing, and I’m excited. I might have to grab some breaded chicken dishes, just for nostalgia’s sake (and because I’ve never been to Hokkaido before – I consider myself to be “quality control”), but I’m totally fine with the occasional splurge. Bring on the crabs!

  3. Currently Craving: Nothing food-wise (this grain-free lifestyle has all but eliminated the need for the Currently Craving section), but I am craving more time with the people I saw last night. There’s just something about seeing people you adore and haven’t seen in a month (or more) that makes your chest feel all warm and fuzzy (in this context, chest means heart, not boobs – I feel I should clarify that). It’s like how you crave something, get a little taste of it, and then it’s all you can think about until you get to have it again – which I suppose makes it sound like an addiction. So yes, I’m addicted to my fellow team leads, and I don’t think that’s necessarily a bad thing. It took all my strength not to be a total weirdo and just run up and give everyone bear hugs last night. I might have a problem, but at least it’s a [relatively] good problem. But for real, I’m counting down the hours until our team meeting next week, when I get to see them all again. ❤ 🙂
  4. Currently Loving: Volunteers. All of them – new ones, old ones, and our staff. Love them all so much, even the ones I’ve just met.

    Also getting back into loving Facebook, even if I’ve hated it for the past few months (thanks, US election).

    I still have thoughts about the election, and I’m still trying to put them into words, but I’m not doing a great job. To be fair, I’m disappointed in the outcome, but I understand (partially) why and how it happened. I’ve been a Hillary supporter since the early 2000s, before the world seriously considered her as a potential president-elect. Of course she wasn’t a perfect candidate; no one is. But in my opinion (and I’m not trying to stir up any debate or drama), she was the better of the two options. Enough people felt differently that we’re now stuck with someone else for four years. I get it. I understand how he won – and while I don’t agree with his rhetoric and his plans, I also know of plenty of “good” people who voted for him.

    I know a lot of people these days are saying that anyone who voted Republican in this election is a racist, homophobic, bigoted, sexist pig (and on and on, ad nauseum), but I disagree. Personally, I believe our new president-elect is all of those things, but he had a way of speaking to the kinds of people who have felt they haven’t been heard in recent elections. Not all of the people who voted for him are sexist/homophobic/etc. Some of them simply wanted a different kind of change than what we’re used to. And while I disagree with the outcome, and I hope that this doesn’t change us for the worse, I can respect the electoral process. In a way – and I know many people will strongly disagree with this – this rift in our country may have a silver lining. I’ve heard of so many friends over the past week who are pledging to do everything in their power to let good triumph over evil – some friends are exploring the possibility of running for public office, others are making unprecedented donations to charities they believe in, and others (including myself) are searching high and low for little ways to effect big change in our everyday lives and the lives of our neighbors. I don’t think I’ve ever before heard of so many people promising to help others, and that gives me hope. So while I’d prefer we weren’t facing four years of uncertain and potentially harmful legislation (please please NO), I am at least a little comforted that the outcome of this election is bringing out the best in a lot of people, rather than the worst (which is what I’d expected).

    As for now, I think the best plan going forward is to be as nice to each other as possible, in the hopes that the love spreads instead of the hate. [/soapbox]

  5. Currently Anticipating: The entire day ahead of me. 🙂

    Also anticipating a foodie event tomorrow, and work – I could use some cash. And then on Sunday, I’m taking Little out on an outing, and then I’m back on the volunteer schedule for the evening (and maybe being used as a guinea pig for a new process).

    Next week is going to be crazy-busy with a kickoff for one customer (I’m supposed to be in Wichita, but I’m doing it remotely) and a solution confirmation for another (I’m supposed to be back in Omaha, but I’m doing it remotely). I’m also in the process of planning another volunteer orientation that may or may not happen next week, and of course, we have our team meeting on Thursday. It’s going to be an exhausting week, but at least it’ll end on a happy note.

That’s it for this week, have a great weekend!

 

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five Things Friday: 11/11/16 Edition

  1. maryaquino says:

    You know I feel this way because you’ve already seen my Facebook posts on the election…but if this motivates the country to do more good, volunteer, get out in the community, make a change, be a voice for good…well, how can that be bad? I think that we forget it is only 4 years until we do this again so time is short! Get out there and be the voice of change in a constructive way!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

