Toasted

Toasted

Today. Was. INSANE.

I knew I had an event to attend in the Strip, and that I’d have to go to work after it. What I didn’t bank on was a fire call. I wasn’t on the schedule, but no one else was available and it was somewhat-near my house, so I offered to go… but I knew the timing would be tight. I didn’t realize just how tight – the event in the Strip was 12-3, but I knew I had to leave by around 2 to get to work, so I was hoping to get there early and stay as long as I could. But the fire call lasted longer than expected, and I didn’t make it to the Strip until after 1, and then I didn’t make it to the event until nearly 1:30. No matter, I made up for lost time. 😉

The event was called A Toast to Pittsburgh, and was held at Smallman Galley. I’d walked through Smallman Galley before, but I hadn’t had a chance to eat there until today. As I deduced from the name, the food was primarily toast-centric, which was fine – I knew it was coming and prepared accordingly to break the grain-free fast.  I ended up mostly eating the meat and vegetables that were offered, but I did have 2 egg salad crostinis and one cauliflower one. Additionally, I had about half of a beer and a hard cider – all before work.  That 1.5 drinks was enough to make me a little loopy by the time I got to work, which just meant that I was super-friendly to everyone. 🙂

The food was good; actually, the egg salad crostinis were really good (this, coming from someone who doesn’t like yolks). I also really liked the tostada portion from Provision Pgh – I skipped the corn chip/tortilla, but I ate the meat and slaw and they were both fantastic.

I had to hustle to get to work, but in the end, I made it – just a couple minutes late (not a problem). So basically, my day was go-go-go from about 9 am until now. And tomorrow is looking just as crazy, potentially – I think I have to visit my parents (they’re getting upset that I’m “too busy for [my] own family”), then I have an outing scheduled with Little, and then I’m on-call starting at 6 pm.

Ugh. This girl needs a hot bath and a long sleep!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Toasted

  1. maryaquino says:

    I don’t like yolks either….

    Like

Leave a Reply

