Boyz N Da Hood

Boyz N Da Hood

What a whirlwind weekend – I feel like I’ve been in nonstop motion since Thursday morning.

While I was at work last night, I got a text requesting my presence at my parents’ house in the morning. This was probably the 5th text/phone call I’ve gotten in recent weeks asking me to come home, and I could tell patience was running thin on all sides. I wasn’t planning on going home until Thanksgiving, but I decided to make time this morning. So I woke up earlier than I wanted to and drove the hour home. I was greeted by two gigantic furballs, which is always nice. 🙂

We (my parents and I) went for lunch and then hung out at the house with the pups for a little while. I was only in town for a couple hours, at which point I had to leave to go pick up Little. The pupperonis were not happy with me when I left – they’re used to me staying for the majority of the day when I visit, and they weren’t fans of this only-a-few-hours-visit nonsense. I’m sure they’ll get over it by the time Thanksgiving rolls around!

I had to scramble to make it to Little’s house on time, but I made it. We went to a nearby gym (we can get a membership through BBBS, so long as we go together), got a tour of the building, and got our workout on (sort of). We shot some hoops, did some aerobics, jumped rope, I showed her how to stack weight on barbells and how to lift, played a little soccer, did a bit of spinning (cycling), and then played in the playground area. We also made a list of things we want to do together on future outings, but a lot of our ideas are reliant on obtaining tickets to museums, etc. I’m still trying to figure out what we can do for free or for really cheap, so if anyone out there has ideas on what a 10-year-old girl likes to do (she’s a proud tomboy, so no princessy stuff), send them my way.

By the time I dropped her off, the weekend was starting to catch up to me. I had one more stop before home, though – I needed to go to Costco for some food and for some gas. I was so hungry by the time I left the store that I sat in my car and devoured part of a rotisserie chicken while I watched the workers close up shop for the night. It was like I couldn’t move until the emptiness in my belly was gone. So weird. Eventually, I made my way to Target for some yogurt, and then home.

I’m on-call tonight, but so far I’ve been lucky and we haven’t gotten a call. I kind of hope we don’t get one tonight, because I feel like I’m going to crash and burn within the hour. Yikes.

Although it was a jam-packed weekend, it was a good one. Less than two more weeks until I get to see my boyz (the dogs) again! 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

