Too Early!

Too Early!

I never used to be one of those people who hated the holidays blurring together – I never minded it until the last few years. Now I see full Christmas displays in stores and outside in peoples’ front yards and I can’t help but scream “TOO EARLY!” every time. There are a couple houses on the main road near my house that have full light displays set up outside, complete with reindeer and the like, and every time I drive by, I honk my horn angrily. Tonight, I went to Walmart to pick up some milk, turned the corner and saw this abomination and just muttered under my breath while turning to walk the other way. Christmas is great, but what about Thanksgiving? Have we forgotten there’s a step between now and 12/25?

Argh.

Maybe I was just cranky due to my early morning wake-up call. I was woken up for a fire, then told to stay in bed and not to come (which made no sense and clearly defeated the purpose of waking me up). While we were on the phone, I got a little freaked because the person who woke me up quoted me word-for-word on something I’ve only written about on here and never said out loud to him. It’s one thing to have your words quoted back to you during regular waking hours; it’s another (more disorienting) thing to have them quoted back to you at crazy o’clock in the morning. After we hung up, the words were ringing in my ears and I couldn’t stop thinking of where I’d said/written them, until I did a quick search and found them on here. Sigh. Good thing I never put anything really bad on here… but now I need to really start watching what I say. 😉

Anyway, can we, as a society, agree to celebrate Thanksgiving before we move on to Christmas? Please? The turkey lover in me is begging you. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

