Don’t Stop Believin’

Don't Stop Believin'

For a cold, snowy Sunday, I’ve had a rather productive day. I’ve finally learned my lesson with being on-call on Sunday nights and trying to get stuff done in the evening – I don’t have the luxury of being on-call and expecting to stay home during the evenings anymore. Now that it’s “fire season,” we’re getting more and more fire calls, which means that if I’m expecting to roast veggies on Sunday evening, I’d better expect to take the veggies out of the oven after only 5 minutes. With that expectation in mind, I’ve learned to get the bulk of my meal prep and other errands done before 6. 🙂

In the morning, I headed out to do some Thanksgiving shopping, and as soon as I went a mile or so in my car, the low tire indicators turned on. This happens every time we have a drastic temperature change, so I wasn’t surprised. At the first GetGo I could find, I pulled in to put air in the tires. There were a few cars ahead of me in the air line, and I’d gotten out and was jumping around to keep warm when a truck pulled in beside me. The driver got out of his truck, started walking up to the air machine, and asked the guy in front of me questions. Finally, he realized I was standing there and that I was next in line, so he then started talking to me.

As we were talking, he went over to my car and started taking the air caps off of my tires. At first, I was a little alarmed – it’s a little strange to take the caps off of someone else’s tires when you’ve never met them. But then he grabbed the compressor hose off of the other guy and started filling my tires for me. I joked that he must be in a hurry (I was still kind of confused about the situation, and I typically try to use humor to defuse awkward situations), but he said that no, “It’s the gentlemanly thing to do.” So this man I’ve never met filled up the air in all my tires while his son (who appeared to be around 13) watched from their truck.

Cue me becoming suddenly speechless for a moment, and then offering about 20 different versions of “thank you so much!” over the course of maybe 2 minutes. It was a relatively small thing to do – he was out of his truck to fill the air in his tires anyway – but it was such an unexpected show of compassion and chivalry that I was nearly moved to tears by the gesture.

Maybe my hope, and the hope of so many others, that we can all be nice to one another wasn’t such a ridiculous notion after all. Maybe we can make this world a more hospitable place, just by doing simple little acts of kindness for our neighbors.

Thank you, guy in the white truck who filled my tires at GetGo. You completely made my week. ❤

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Don’t Stop Believin’

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

