Mobile HQ

Mobile HQ

Between last week and already this week, it’s been a busy time for fires. Our messaging system that we use for when we need additional volunteers has been seeing nonstop action over the past week or so.

I’ve gotten into a (bad) habit where, if I’m not on the schedule and someone needs help, I’ll agree to respond, but only if someone meets me close to my house (if the fire is anywhere within, let’s say, a 5 mile radius of my place). Today was no exception – I agreed to go out on a call, but only if someone could meet me at Costco and take me to the scene. I needed to buy brussels sprouts for Thanksgiving – a girl’s gotta get her veggies, ya know? Luckily, someone agreed to pick me up, and I was able to assist my 37th person over the course of just 4 days. That is an insane number of people, folks.

So yeah, I’m really digging this mobile headquarters thing I have going on. A friend who lives further out than me mentioned on Thursday that we should have an East Pittsburgh meeting place, and I officially nominate Costco. Go out for a fire, come back with a gigantic tub of almond butter. Everybody wins. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mobile HQ

  1. Nothing Personal says:

    37 people? Wow. I responded to the 5 p.m. call right away–I have no heat so I was more than willing to go out on a call right after work–but they already had enough. Either that, or they just needed a TL. And Costco doesn’t look like I thought. I dont think I’ve ever seen one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

