Flashy

Flashy

Yesterday was a fun and much-needed day away from everything (sort of – texts and emails were out of control). Back in January (I think), I won a free night at the Fairfield Inn – Akron South at my second job’s belated holiday party. The venue I work at is a hotel with a large wedding reception facility attached, so a lot of our door prizes at our holiday party are stays at other hotels – hence why we headed to Akron. (A few family members asked why on earth we’d go to Akron to stay overnight, so there’s the answer.)

As usual on trips with me, it’s not so much the destination that’s the point, but all the things in between. So my mom and I headed off to Ohio yesterday morning, stopped at some places along the way, and generally had a fun time together. We did some shopping at places we never get to go – Costco (for wine, since we can’t buy it in PA Costcos!), World Market (!!!), and a few other places. We stopped for dinner at a place called The Rail, and discovered they had Long Island Iced Teas for $3… and I don’t think either of us has ever actually had a LIIT…. so we each got one and loved it… and then had to walk through the nearby mall for an hour or so to sober up. πŸ™‚ After dinner, we grabbed some snacks at Target, and then headed to the theatre near the hotel for a viewing of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (we both liked it). By the time the movie was over, we were both ready to drop. So back to the hotel we went and headed to bed.

This morning, we had breakfast at the hotel and then headed back towards home. I had to be at work in the afternoon, but we had a couple extra hours since we left early… so we stopped at the Grove City Outlets. Neither of us needed anything, but we figured it made sense to stop since we were driving by anyway. Once we got out of the warm car, we immediately regretted the decision to wear mid-weight jackets – we nearly froze! I’ve been wearing a new favorite jacket for the past two months or so – a $15 bright red jacket with a hood from Costco. I love it a lot, not least of all because when I wear it on disaster calls, there’s no question which organization I’m working with, even without wearing a vest. πŸ˜‰ I really want to continue wearing that jacket for disaster calls, but I know I’m going to freeze for the next few months if I try. So I joked that I should get a new winter coat at Columbia since they were having such great deals, and that led to us trying on coats. We left Columbia and went to another store known for winter coats, and then I almost went back to Columbia for the coat that I really liked. I had to talk myself down from buying it, because let’s face it, I don’t need another coat, and I need to save my money these days. So I resisted and we kept moving, shivering as we walked.

Eventually we made our way to the VF Outlet store, and I found the jacket in the picture above. I tried it on kind of as a joke – I hate puffy jackets; I feel like they always add about 30 pounds to a person – but I considered buying it just to keep in my car for disasters. I walked around with it half-heartedly for a few minutes, and started walking towards the register with it. The tag said $24.99, which I thought was a good deal… but then I noticed the sign on the rack said the real price was only $11.98, and at that point, it was a done deal. A winter jacket for $12? Sold! Even if I only keep it in my car for emergencies, that’s a good deal. Since I was so darn cold, I put it on before we left the store (after paying, of course), and then put my regular red jacket over top (for the hood, since it was sprinkling). Turns out, that’s a great combination – the warmth was perfect, and you can’t even tell I have a puffy jacket underneath my regular jacket. So I get warmth + hood + flashy red, all in one combination of coats. As we walked back to the car, I was happy as a clam, and so much warmer. Excellent purchase. So excited to wear it more, layered under my regular red jacket. ❀

We left around noon and headed back to see the pupperonis. They were beyond excited to see us, and I was happy to spend a little more time with them before I headed to work. I didn’t get to stop home between my parents’ house and work, but that’s fine; I’m home now.

All in all, I’m glad I got to spend some quality time with my mom (and some time away from everything, even if I was still “working” [volunteer stuff] on the drive over) and that I got to spend most of the holiday weekend with my family. The fact that I have a flashy new jacket to add warmth to my favorite jacket is just the [bright red] cherry on top. πŸ™‚

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Flashy

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

