Too Close For Comfort

Too Close For Comfort

I’ve gotten to the point where I’ve done this volunteer stuff long enough (or really, just often enough) that sometimes I just know things before they happen. Today I knew, without a doubt, what was going to happen, where, and at around what time. At around 3, I knew we’d be getting a call after 6, and I knew exactly what it was for (and it wasn’t due to PulsePoint). And then when we got a second call, I wasn’t surprised in the least – I already knew where it was going to be. You do this long enough, the disasters find you.

Since we got our second call as we were heading out to our first, it was suggested that we take our new large disaster vehicle since the responders at the second fire were requesting a warm place for people to wait. This is a brand-new vehicle, and larger than a standard van – it’s like a cross between a van and a U-Haul, I’d say. Personally, I wanted nothing to do with driving it. My friend Tony volunteered, though, so we were on our way. Thank goodness he was driving, because I would have killed us all before we even made it a quarter of the way to the first fire. Not even kidding. We would be dead.

With all the activity, the night just flew by. After filling out some paperwork in the office, I didn’t get home until after 12:30. Then once I got home, I remembered I’d been asked to fill out an incident report, so I needed to turn my computer back on and figure out what to write. This is one of those documents that eventually gets routed up to the President. Like, the real President – Barack Obama. It still boggles my mind that I’m being trusted to write things that go to the POTUS… especially since I’m never quite sure what to say.

Now it’s after 2 am, and I’m still wearing a coat (in the house – my thermostat is set to 56 at night and 52 during the day). I’m starting to wonder if it even makes sense to sleep; I’m too keyed up. Guess I’d better at least try! 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Too Close For Comfort

  1. Nothing Personal says:

    No kidding, just before you called I was on pulse point, and I saw that fire. I thought you were calling about that one. When we were at the chapter, and you received the second call, as you asked the officer for the address, I looked at Gen and mouthed it.

    So I can see how you can develop those instincts.

    As for the big vehicle, I’m glad I could be the Mr. T to our A Team. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

