Big Rig’n

Big Rig'n

Today was a 15-hour long whirlwind that I’m still trying to get my head around. I was prepared for some parts of my day, but caught completely off-guard by others.

The day started out at our volunteer chapter for a lesson on how to operate our big new vehicle that we took out the other day. It’s called an ERV – Emergency Response Vehicle – and it’s way bigger than a Mini Cooper. We learned about the different controls in it and how to operate it, and then we test drove it around the neighborhood in small groups. The test drive portion ended with needing to back the vehicle into our parking lot, into a regular-sized parking spot. My plan for my turn was to drive it around the neighborhood and then ask someone else to back it in… but when the time came, I realized I couldn’t hold up traffic to switch seats, so I had to go for it. Scared. The. Crap. Out. Of. Me. I hate backing into things in a Mini, so you can imagine how awful it was to back up a vehicle that’s probably twice the size (or more). By some miracle, I got it back into the parking spot. I really don’t know how we’re all still alive. One person from our group bailed right before I started to drive, presumably because he feared for his life. I kind of sort of have a reputation. 😉 Anyway, I got the job done and now I’m qualified to drive that sucker anywhere my little heart desires.

My plan for the rest of the day was to walk around the Strip District, find lunch somewhere, and then hang out at the office with a magazine before going to work. Reality was a little different. I was talking with one of our manager types about clarification on how to do something, when she asked, “Has anyone approached you about the open position?” At first, I wasn’t sure what to say – I just started working on a new position this past week, and I thought maybe she was talking about the volunteer engagement stuff we’d discussed previously. But if we’d already spoken about it, she wouldn’t have asked if anyone had approached me about it… and it wasn’t a new position anymore… so I said no.

I was way off target, because the position in question isn’t a volunteer position, but an employee one, and this person thinks I’d be perfect for it. Not only that, but it would be for a position that’s actually above this person (but at a nearby/different chapter), which completely threw me off. Honestly, my immediate thought was “this has to be some sort of prank to see how far I’d take this volunteer stuff.” But then we spent 3.5 hours talking about what the position would entail and who I’d report to, what the salary is, what the benefits are, etc., and I realized she was absolutely serious. I’m not quite sure what to make of it all, because this is the first time I’ve had more than 5 minutes to myself since the conversation… but she thinks I’d be great for it, and she made some really (REALLY) good points in favor of me at least applying for it. I’m not unhappy at my current job; I love the company I work for and I [usually] don’t mind the work, but this throws everything into question. The starting salary is more than $10,000 less than I currently make, and I’d have to drive to Greensburg every day (which really isn’t all that far from my place; the commute time would probably be shorter, actually). But, I already know I love the work (I currently do it for free), and it would give me some real purpose – my main purpose at work these days is to make sure big corporations save money on their procurement needs by using the system that I help to build… that’s hardly winning me any good karma. I can’t even imagine what it would be like to spend each day doing the work that I already know I love doing, and to get paid for it. But $10,000 is a substantial pay cut, and the benefits likely wouldn’t be as fantastic as the ones at my current job. But I keep coming back to the part where I love it and I want to do more and I could really make a difference every. single. day. of. my. life if I could work for them. I’m torn. Like, really, truly, have no idea how to proceed. I think my next step is going to be to update my resume and check out the posting, then see if I really think it’s something I should apply for. I don’t really want to rock the boat at all, but if I was approached about it, there’s at least one person who knows me and who knows that I’d do well at it. Sigh. So excited! So scared!

Since I stuck around talking for like 3.5 hours instead of walking around and finding food, I went to work with no lunch other than the string cheese and jerky I’d brought with me. Totally worth it, though. Turns out I have a LOT in common with the person I was speaking with, and our similarities go way beyond the work that we do. I told her something that only one other person on the team knows, and it’s something I’ve never gotten to talk about with another person who’s had the same struggle… I’ve gone 9 years without having anyone to talk to about this thing, and now I know we’ve both dealt with it and we were able to compare notes. It was nice. Really nice. I guess this is what support groups are like, only bigger?

Anyway, the point is, I went to work hungry, and I arrived late, but I didn’t care. Work itself wasn’t all that fantastic, but I did end my shift on the receiving end of a bunch of [probably drunk] texts from other volunteers that were attending a party. Gotta love drunk texts. I was also invited to a small happy hour thing later this week, so at least I didn’t miss out on all the fun. 🙂

Time to go make up for that meal I missed earlier today, and to get a hot bath. Maybe I’ll take that missing meal into the bathtub with me. Ahhhhh. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Big Rig’n

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

