Take Me To Church

Take Me To Church

What better way to cap off a half day of work than by having dinner and drinks with some of the best people I know? Bonus points if the outing is in a former church and you don’t burst into flames when you step inside. 😉

Some of my volunteer buds invited me out to The Church Brew Works tonight, so I got to spend the night hanging with some of my favorite people. It was a smaller group than who attends our post-meeting happy hours we’ve been setting up, but there were 7 of us for dinner. CBW wouldn’t have been my first choice for dinner and drinks, but it actually turned out pretty well – despite the fact that we were spread out at a long table, we could hear from one end of the table to the next with no issues thanks to the acoustics in the former church/beer hall.

I chose a kale/apple/onion salad with grilled chicken and a cranberry moscow mule. While tasty, the salad was rather small for $16.50. My salad + drink + tip came to $30, and I walked out of the joint still feeling hungry. Let’s face it, though, I wasn’t there for the food or drink – I was there for the people.

As always, I walked away from the evening with that heart-ready-to-burst feeling and a gigantic grin on my face. It always makes my entire week when I can hang out with these people. ❤

Lucky for me, I’m going to have that super-gushy feeling again on Friday. I’m taking a vacation day and spending the day in the volunteer office shadowing our program supervisor and learning the ins and outs of what goes on during the day. It’ll give me a better idea of how different employee roles work and what the dynamic is, which will allow me to understand the politics of the joint. Lots of thinking happening these days, and working there on my day off will hopefully clear some things up for me.  🙂

Until that day, though, I only have to work 4 hours – I have another half day tomorrow. This time, I’m sleeping in and only working in the afternoon. I could really get used to this December work schedule!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Take Me To Church

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

