Jamaican Me Hungry

Jamaican Me Hungry

I took a much-needed day off today, and actually used it as a day OFF. No volunteer work. No real work. No housework, even. It. Was. GLORIOUS.

Late last night, about 20 minutes before my on-call shift ended, I got a call from another volunteer who wasn’t on the schedule. He was calling about a fire he was able to see from his house, and he was listening to a scanner and heard our team had been called (we hadn’t yet). He was offering up his help if I needed it, but I was hoping that the Philly office would hold onto the call until after midnight. No such luck – they called just a few minutes after I hung up the phone. I took the call, and then hesitated for the first time in almost 12 months. Normally I’m completely gung-ho when it comes to disaster calls, but I was freaking exhausted after this weekend. Between the large-scale event on my day off on Friday, work on Saturday, going on more calls Saturday night into Sunday morning, and then entertaining my Little for a few hours, I was bushed. So I did something I’ve never ever done before – I punted the call to the person starting at midnight, my amigo named Dude. Luckily, he knows that I’d never ask him to take a call from my shift unless I really need him to, so he was more than happy to help. Thank goodness, because I would have been a miserable bear today if I’d had yet another night with no sleep.

So thanks to Dude, I was able to enjoy a full night’s sleep without worry that I’d be woken up. He has no idea how much I appreciate that, even after all the texts I’ve sent him thanking him.

So today I was able to sleep in a little and lounged around the house for a while. I watched a bunch of I Love Lucy episodes, did some laundry (my one concession to adulting today), and then planned out my afternoon and evening. For lunch I decided to treat myself to a place I’ve driven past probably thousands of times over the years, but I’ve always been a bit too intimidated to stop at – Fireside Caribbean in Wilkinsburg. It’s always awkward going out to eat by yourself, especially at a place you’ve never been to before. Today’s outing was incredibly awkward, as there appeared to be a system to having your order taken, but I stood there for probably 20 minutes and couldn’t figure out what the system was. Eventually, the person taking orders and money noticed me and took my order for brown stew chicken and fried plantains. Why did I order that? Because that’s what the internet told me to do.

Little did I know (but I was grateful), all meals appear to be packaged to-go, so I grabbed my bag without peeking and headed back out into the brittle cold weather. Not wanting to cool down the food, I didn’t open my bag until I got home. I honestly had no idea what to expect from a dish called brown stew chicken, but I figured it couldn’t be bad. Turns out, it was pretty tasty. It was served with rice and beans (apparently called “rice and peas” in Jamaica?), so I had my first bites of rice in months – meh. I’d still be happy living without rice, but there were no weird or bad reactions to it. The dish was also served with some cabbage, which seemed random, but I don’t mind cabbage. The chicken itself was fall-apart well-done, and pretty yummy. The plantains were also delicious, but I knew what to expect from those. I paired the meal with a Dark & Stormy, the closest Caribbean-style drink I had available – Goslings dark rum + Jamaica’s Best ginger beer + lime juice. It was a nice little lunch! I’m glad I finally took the plunge to go to Fireside, but I wish I’d been able to figure out the ordering system before I left.

The rest of the day entailed shopping – supposedly for Christmas presents, but really just for myself. I walked away from the day with a few pairs of cheap earrings from Forever21, two new books from Half-Price Books, and some more snap pea crisps.

It wasn’t exactly an exciting day off, but it was exactly what I needed. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jamaican Me Hungry

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

  2. Pingback: Stewing | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

