Five Things Friday: 12/23/16 Edition

FullSizeRender.jpg

Yay, we made it to Friday! Sometimes I’m just not sure it’s gonna come.

This Friday, the next one, and the one after that are all super-special for me because we don’t have any weddings/special events scheduled the next three weekends… so while I’d normally be excited to have a couple days off from my full-time job, but bummed that I have to work on Saturday, I’m extra-happy this week since I have 5 full days off with no work whatsoever. I still have volunteer stuff to do, but hopefully that won’t be too stressful. People of Pittsburgh, please don’t let your homes catch on fire, flood, or leak carbon monoxide this weekend. (If only those things were so easy to prevent…)

Anyway, let’s get down to it, shall we?

  1. Currently Reading: I officially gave up on Wheat Belly Total Health yesterday, not because it wasn’t interesting or useful, but because I was stalled on it for too long. I got about halfway through it and then got distracted by other things, so I returned it yesterday while I was at work. I took note of the page I was on, so I might return to it in the future, but I need a break from it for now.

    I did finish reading Pastrix, by Nadia Bolz-Weber, this week. Predictably, I loved it. I loved it so much that when I returned it today (at a different library than yesterday’s), I stopped to look it up on Amazon to see what other people buy when they buy Bolz-Weber’s books. From there, I was led into a wormhole that included me roaming around the religion section of the library (soooooo not typical for me), and finding the book above – Have a New Husband by Friday. It’s not actually about what it looks like (it’s about changing your husband’s attitude and behavior, which seems very condescending and wrong to me), but it was hilarious because of a discussion earlier today. My dentist, who arrived at the office wearing a Pitt Facilities Maintenance sweatshirt, black sweat pants, slip-on sandals, and white socks (NO JOKE), was talking about my husband and blah blah blah while he was making terrible jokes (I love my dentist, btw; he’s awesome). So the dentist thought I was married, and this book is telling me I can have a new husband by next Friday… hmm… too bad I’m not a lost cause; otherwise I’d think the universe was trying to tell me something! (For the record, I did not check out the New Husband book.)

  2. Currently Eating: Well, I “forgot” to eat lunch today, so I just shoved the last of the brown stew chicken in my face at 4pm. Because the dentist is over halfway to one of my favorite gyms, I went there straight after my appointment, and stayed on the treadmill for about 75 minutes. Once I was done, I tried looking for places to eat for a “cheat” lunch, but nothing really sparked my interest. Everyday Noodles and their soup dumplings sounded good, but I walked past juuuuust after 2:30, when they shut down until 4. Otherwise, nothing sounded fantastic… so I just went walked around a bit more and then went home. Enter 4pm and a rumbling tummy, and I had no choice but to get that chicken into my pie hole as fast as my freezing cold fingers would transport it.

    Not going to lie, I’m getting a little tired of roasted vegetables at every meal. They’re good, sure, but I’ve literally eaten them for 95% of my meals over the last almost 3 months. I’m going to need to figure out some creative vegetable-based side dishes for the new year.

  3. Currently Craving: Nothing, really. Cravings have all but disappeared since I cut back on grains. I’ve been letting myself enjoy the holiday season with an occasional grain-based treat over the past week, but so far that hasn’t affected me too much. I plan on going ham (pun intended) on some ham gravy and mashed potatoes on Christmas, and if I get my way (I probably won’t), someone will be making up for the lack of pecan pie at Thanksgiving with one for Christmas. If so, I’m all-in on that pie. Get in mah belly.
  4. Currently Loving: Lots of stories about kids raising money to buy other kids toys. Seriously, just log onto Facebook and browse for a minute or two; these stories seem to be everywhere. I’d take these stories over political stories any day of the year.

    Totally loving the fact that I’m miraculously done with Christmas shopping AND with wrapping, as of last night. I’m usually a last-minute wrapper, and I’m THE ABSOLUTE WORST at it, so the fact that it’s all done is incredible. I still need to figure out when I’m heading home, but at this point it doesn’t really matter since there’s nothing holding me back from leaving whenever I want. Normally I’m scrambling to wrap presents on Christmas Eve, minutes before I’m scheduled to leave my house for my parents’ house. This way of doing things is much more relaxing. 🙂

  5. Currently Anticipating: Family time, I guess. Christmas has lost its appeal for me, as no one in my family really needs anything. If we left the holiday up to me, I’d drag my parents along to a soup kitchen or to a fire, or to somewhere that we can be together while helping other people who actually do need things. Unfortunately, that’s probably never going to happen – I think I could get my mom to go along with it with some advance planning, but my dad probably wouldn’t. So instead, I’ll settle for family togetherness and gifting the joy of my presence to the extended family. (<– In case it’s not abundantly clear, that’s a hefty dose of sarcasm.)

    I am pretty excited about next week, though – Monday and Tuesday are company holidays, and then I’m working on Wednesday and Thursday (but I only have 3 meetings between the two days and I’m sure at least one, if not two, will be canceled). Friday I’m off again, for another long weekend – I won’t head back into the office until Jan. 3 (or later). I can’t do much travel-wise on the short notice (and with the jacked-up fares), but this might be a great time to clean my house and enjoy it a little. There’s one day that I’ll probably be in the volunteer office, but that’s more “fun” and less “work.” So basically, I have almost a week and a half to do as little work as possible (minus those few meetings I have). Hurrah!

    There’s the potential my parents and I might be taking a little trip tomorrow for some Amish donuts, so if I go, I’ll have that to look forward to as well. Gahhhh, Amish donuts are the greatest things ever!

That’s it for this week! Happy holidays, everyone, and stay safe and warm! 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

