Yip Yip

Yip Yip

Before today I didn’t believe in time warps, but that’s changed.

I woke up and had no idea what I was going to do with my day – I was off work, but I didn’t really feel like going anywhere and the idea of shopping repulsed me after the past week. After I finished breakfast and stared at my computer for awhile, I realized I had some volunteer work that needed to be done. A few texts later to see who was in the office and to see if I could be useful, and I was on my way.

The office was almost completely empty – our director was in for part of the day, our manager had stopped in on a whim but wasn’t officially working, and my buddy Dude was the only one planning to spend the day there. When I arrived, all three were there and we had some interesting discussions, but soon enough it was just me and Dude. We spent the entire day together, and even went for a walk together at lunch – all told, we spent close to seven hours joined at the hip. The craziest part of it was, those 7 hours felt like no more than 5 minutes. Honestly, when it was 4:30 and he told me it was time for us to pack up and go, I thought the clocks were wrong. I don’t think I’ve ever had that happen before; I don’t think I’ve ever enjoyed someone’s company so much that hours seemed like mere minutes. It was awesome, but it makes me a little sad – Dude is 62 and very happily married. Why can’t single dudes my own age make hours seem like minutes? Sigh…

Here’s the catch-22 about this situation – the people who make you believe in time warps are the ones you want to spend all your time with, but the time spent with them flies by at lightning speed. Conversely, the time spent without them slows to a crawl. It’s so unfair. I’ve experienced this to a degree with a lot of the other volunteers, but not as intensely as today. Today’s time warp is still screwing with my head.

Anyway, we got a ton of work done today, and we also managed to have some fun. At one point, we somehow got into a conversation about the “yip yip” martians from Sesame Street, and Dude did the most incredible impression of them I’ve ever heard. It was so fantastic that I had to pull up YouTube to compare his impression to the original and daaaang, it’s spot-on. Even listening to it now, I’m cracking up. Thank goodness everyone else was gone by that point; they would have thought we’d finally lost our minds.

Maybe I can find a way to bring Dude to work with me when I start maintaining a regular work schedule again in January; maybe then the workdays would fly by. If all else fails, I can pull up some Sesame Street on YouTube and have a little laugh. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yip Yip

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

