Broken Wings

Broken Wings

I shouldn’t admit this publicly, but I’m proud of myself because I managed to go out in public and socialize with people who are neither work nor volunteer friends tonight (with the exception of one friend, Tony, who is also a volunteer). It was such a rare occasion – I feel like all of my social time these days involves primarily other volunteers; if not, coworkers.

The occasion was that our friends who used to live here in Pgh but moved to Oregon are back in town for the holidays. They were nice enough to plan a big get-together and invite everyone, so I got to wear normal clothes and act like a semi-functioning normal person tonight in order to see them.

The get-together was at Birmingham Bridge Tavern, and they were having their usual Yuengs (Yuenglings, for those not from around here) & Wings special. I skipped the Yuengs, but opted for some wings. I always feel awful ordering wings in public, because I’m the weirdest wing-eater in the history of the world – I tear them apart with my fingers; I don’t bite into them. This results in messy fingers, hands, face, and (more often than not) hair. And the poor people who draw the short straw and have to sit with me and watch me eat them… yeesh. Sorry. As my friend Dude would say, “We need to get you fixed.”

Despite wing sauce flying all over the joint, I managed to have a really fun time and see some people I haven’t seen in a few months. It felt really nice to act like a normal human being for once; I might have to try this type of thing more often. I think I’d forgotten what it’s like to not think of everyone in terms of ranks/titles; it’s like I didn’t know how to mentally categorize anyone without thinking “team lead,” “trainee,” or “team member.” (How sad is that?) Maybe I should make a 2017 goal to be more normal…

Anyway, it was a great night with fantastic people, and I’m glad I took the time to change out of my pj’s to go. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Broken Wings

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

  2. Nothing Personal says:

    One of my favorite and most relaxing nights in a while. Wish I could have talked to Jes and Bryan more, but they had many friends to attend to. But it was nice seeing everyone, and anytime I can have an hours long talk with you, it makes my week.

    Good luck with your final meeting of 2016!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

