Because I Got High

Because I Got High

I went looking for adventure tonight, and hoooooooboy did I find it.

I spent my day working from home in pj’s, and by the time I was done and it was time to hit the gym, I looked up trampoline exercise classes in Pittsburgh on a whim. Taking a trampoline exercise class was on my 2015 list that I didn’t finish, and I transferred it to the 16 in ’16 list when I created it last year around this time. So yeah, I’ve had two years to cross this one off – a task with no weather or people dependencies, no schedules to worry about, and a relatively cheap task at that – but I waited until 12/29 to see if there were any classes available. Procrastinate much?

Luckily, there’s a Sky Zone in Monroeville (near Murrysville) and they offer “Sky Robics” every Tuesday and Thursday 7pm-8pm. It was 5:30 when I checked, so I took my time getting ready and then headed out the door.

Before you get to the cashier to purchase access to the class, you need to fill out an electronic waiver. You can also do that online, but hello, procrastinator. I was pleased to discover that the class was actually cheaper than an hour’s worth of “open jump” time – I paid $10 – and that all access to the trampolines comes with sized non-skid socks. Smart.

After I figured out where I was going and where to put my stuff, fixed my sticker to my shirt and changed into the bright orange grippy socks, I was ready to rock.

I totally went into this thing thinking it would be an easy class, but that I’d have fun. I was both completely wrong and so right – I did have fun, but HOLY SCHNIKES it was hard! Not unbearably difficult, mind you, but wayyyyyyyyyy harder than it looks. I’m routinely in the gym for about 5-6 days a week, usually for a minimum of an hour at a time – it’s not that I’m completely out of shape. It’s just that it was an entirely new exercise for me and I was moving my body in ways it hasn’t moved since I was probably 10. It doesn’t help that I have very little sense of balance and that I tend to get lightheaded often – in fact, about 40 minutes in, I needed to take a water break and sit down because I thought I was going to go down. That tends to happen every so often with my workouts, but it sucks when it happens in the middle of a class. Regardless, I only sat out for about 2 minutes and then got right back in.

We started the class with a warm-up of free jumping, and then moved to stretching… then we got into the meat of the workout. There were X jumps, twists, burpees, squats, seat drops, jumping jacks, butt kicks, sprints across the trampoline, and so many other things that I don’t have names for. Every 20 minutes or so, we had a water break, which every single one of us desperately needed. The last few minutes of the class involved a quick (and fun) partnered game, and then a cool-down and more stretching.

Our instructor was very nice and took the time to explain the different moves to us. There was another girl there around my age; she was visiting from NC and she’d never done a trampoline workout before either; the other attendees were two dudes who were friends and who had clearly done the class before – they knew all the moves and showed off a bit. We all had fun, though, and we were all – even the guys – sweaty and gross by the end of the class.

I’m so glad I went to the class tonight, even if I’m sure I’m going to regret it tomorrow. I can already feel my legs and butt getting sore! 😉

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Because I Got High

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

  2. maryaquino says:

    If you vacation in MB this year and our trampoline center has these classes….will you do one with me? I don’t mind looking like a doofus when working out with someone else……

    Like

Leave a Reply

