Five Things Friday: 12/30/16 Edition

FullSizeRender.jpg

Maybe I’m really naive, or just dumb, but why on earth would a slow cooker need wifi? Are slow cookers checking Facebook and Twitter while they work now? Have we made that great leap and it just sailed right over my head?

Needless to say, I spent some time in Walmart today, simply because I expected it to be less of a disaster today than, say, tonight. I was wrong, and it was awful. I did manage to snag some CuddlDuds and new underwear without seeing anyone I know, though, so I’ll consider it a win for today.

  1. Currently Reading: OK, those of you who know me well… don’t laugh too hard. I’m about halfway through a book called God is Disappointed in You, and I’m loving it. It’s hilarious; at one point, I almost choked on some water while I was reading it. The title is a little misleading; the book doesn’t take a depressing tone at all. In fact, it’s awesome – it goes through The Bible chapter by chapter to give modern-day summaries in regular language (including swear words and some dirty language, which makes it funnier), and with relevant historical context. I tried to read The Bible a couple times years and years ago, but I never got past the first few pages of Genesis. Considering I’m not religious in the slightest, I find it amusing I’m on this religious books kick. Who knows, maybe I’ll end up going to church once or twice in 2017. Anything could happen!
  2. Currently Eating: Pecan Freaking Pie, son. My aunt still refused to make the pie for me, but her mom made it instead. Her mom loves me (she’s my aunt by marriage). 🙂 I took home a large slice on Christmas night, and I’ve been taking a few bites every night. It’s been glo-rious. I kind of wish I could request another one for New Year’s dinner, and I’m sure she’d make it, but I don’t want to get too greedy.

    I’ve also been chowing down on leftovers, but the last of them are in the microwave as I’m typing – I’m going for a sort of lunch/dinner hybrid, I guess. My goal for this evening is to roast more veggies since I ran out a couple days ago; those will tide me over until New Year’s, when I’ll likely have even more leftovers. Lucky for me no one in my family enjoys eating the same meal over and over again until it’s gone… I can’t say that I love it, but I do love not having to cook every night.

  3. Currently Watching: Yes, this is the Currently Craving spot, but since I’ve changed the way I eat, I haven’t had any cravings in months. So, I’m making the executive decision to change it to Currently Watching.

    This week I finished up the rest of I Love Lucy on Amazon Prime, and moved on to The Dick Van Dyke Show on Netflix. Unfortunately, I’m not loving TDVDS, so I also started watching Stranger Things. I realize I’m late to the party on this one, but it’s for good reason – the show creeps me out. I really like it, and I like all of the characters, but I can’t watch it right before bed; I think I’d probably have nightmares. Instead, it’s been making the treadmill miles fly by, except I almost screamed on the treadmill today while watching episode 5. I held back and just looked away, but it was a tense moment.

  4. Currently Loving: Lots of things, some of which have come to me courtesy of Facebook.

    First, probably one of the most-shared items from my friends this week is a guy talking about millenials and their social media addictions. I watched it the whole way through while I was working on Wednesday, and while the guy kind of annoyed me for some reason (maybe because I couldn’t place his accent?), he spoke some truth. I’ve become guilty of constantly checking my phone – not because I’m waiting for a tweet or a FB message, but because I often get disaster texts, phone calls, or emails, and sometimes they’re time-sensitive. It’s for a good reason that I’m hyperactive about checking my phone, but it’s still not a good thing to do. It’s one of the things I’m going to work on in 2017. (h/t to Mary for being the first friend that I saw who shared the video.)

    Another friend shared this picture, which was the perfect thing I needed to see in the moment:
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/lindschv/31871405741/in/dateposted-public/
    (Sorry if it shows as a link and not a picture; I’m having technical difficulties today.)

    Finally, in trying to find something else online, I stumbled across this article on finding your life’s purpose. I read through it and it rang all too true for me. I decided to not attempt the position I was considering, just because it’s not the right time, and because I can’t bear the thought of not being able to volunteer with my favorite people (working for another chapter, I wouldn’t have the time or the energy to continue with my current team). Now I’m facing a little bit of regret that I didn’t send in my resume, especially after reading this article. So many of the points in the article make me think of the volunteer work that we do – especially, “What makes you forget to eat and poop?” and “Gun to your head, if you had to leave the house all day, every day, where would you go and what would you do?” They sound kind of silly, but I’ve literally gotten lightheaded out on disaster calls because I’ve simply forgotten to eat (and I didn’t much care to stop and eat), and I go to that office to work any time I have a day off from my paying job. Clearly I’m doing something right, and I’m also doing something very wrong. I’m glad, however, that I’m figuring it out now – better late than never!

  5. Currently Anticipating: Meh, not new year’s. I don’t think our family friend is having his usual party this year, so I have nothing to do for New Year’s Eve. I considered heading home just to be with people, but I’ll be there New Year’s day anyway. I’m leaning towards signing up for some disaster shifts in the hope that I can be productive… otherwise, I might just stay home and be lazy. If ever there was a Saturday that I wish people would have a party, it’s this one (the parties are always on Saturdays when I work)… but there are no parties this weekend. Merp.

    In a weird way, I’m anticipating 2017. I’ve been thinking a lot of the items I want to add to my 17 in ’17 list, and I’m excited to get started on some of them. Expect more volunteering/more do-goodering (<– totally a word), and maybe even some self-improvement types of things.

    And lastly, I’m anticipating being off work with no plans for the next couple days. We got cheated out of next weekend off (turns out we have an event), so this is my last known weekend of freedom. I have some excitement planned, including watching the new Ghostbusters movie, and drinking more than my fair share of Rumchata (dangerously delicious). I’m living the life of the rich and famous over here, folks!

That’s it for me this week! Have a great (SAFE) weekend, everyone, and happy early New Year!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

