Home Is Where The Disasters Are

Home Is Where The Disasters Are

I’ve figured out that one of the few things that’s made me feel better/more worthwhile the past week or so is being around my fellow volunteers and staff members. When the world feels like a really cold and incredibly lonely place (so annoyingly emo, I know), they make me feel a little warmer and make me feel like I belong with them. So it’s no surprise that I headed straight to the volunteer office after my dentist appointment this afternoon so that I could snag a huddle room and finish out my work day in the company of some of my favorite people.

After I finished my work stuff, I headed downstairs to our monthly meeting, where I got to hang with a lot of my peeps. Afterwards, I discussed business with the boss for a few and then headed to happy hour.

Happy hour was at Pints on Penn tonight, and I was pretty darn happy with the place. It’s close to our office, they have a decent beer selection for those people, and (best of all) they had a Pittsburgh-style Moscow mule on special for only $5 and it was delicious. I only had one since the combination of antibiotics + vicodin doesn’t work well with vodka + champagne (yes, champagne in a mule, and it rocked), but on a normal day I would have had no problem going back for seconds and probably thirds. It might be my favorite post-meeting happy hour place we’ve been to so far, thanks to affordability, selection, proximity to our office, and seclusion (we had the upstairs to ourselves).

Finally, I got home and just finished eating dinner and now I’m heading out on a disaster call, so at least I’m keeping busy. That’s another night in the books, friends.

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

