Supermarket Sweep

Supermarket Sweep

Hi.

I’ve been gone from the internet for a couple days. It wasn’t planned, but it was kind of intentional in that I had nothing good or useful to say, and (to be honest) I wasn’t having the best go of things. I’m still kind of struggling with some stuff, but a disaster call finally snapped me out of my funk.

It’s really hard to think the things I’ve been thinking about lately when there are potentially 30 displaced people and a team of your peers relying on you to snap out of it and get your head in the game long enough to go purchase supplies and transport them across town. I was on the schedule as a supervisor tonight, which I totally forgot about until someone called me for help. There was a situation where people were displaced (hence the need for our services), but due to the demographics of the people, we needed to provide some food. We typically contract with Eat’n Park restaurants to provide meals when we need them, but due to the hour of the call, there would only be one cook in the kitchen and it would take forever. Since I have a volunteer org credit card now, my job for the night was to go to a grocery store and buy as many normal-people-friendly foods as I thought might feed 30 people.

My first stop, Giant Eagle, was bust because my nearest one apparently closes at 10. So off to Walmart I went, running through the aisles and sweeping stuff into my cart like I was on Supermarket Sweep. I made it out of the store in pretty good time, but then realized I’d forgotten utensils, so then I had to drive to Wilkinsburg to stop at the Get Go, where a cop and I got into a (good-natured) argument.

Eventually I made my way to the other side of town, where I found my team and the displaced residents. However, I was so out of it from the past few days that when I got there, I saw one of our new trainees and said, “Hi, I’m Lindsay. Who are you?” At which point she very politely reminded me of her name and that I did her orientation just a month ago and that I also drove her home. I should also mention that it was at this point in time that I realized I was literally wearing only long underwear out in public. For real. Top and bottom, covered only with a light jacket since I was in such a rush to leave the house. Oy. Brilliant.

So without meaning to sound dramatic, this volunteer stuff may well have saved my life tonight. And since I was considering skipping our meeting tomorrow, I’m glad I feel normal enough to go now. It doesn’t sound like much, but that’s a pretty big improvement over the past few days.

Thank goodness for good people and good reasons to get out of bed in the morning.

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Supermarket Sweep

  1. maryaquino says:

    Supermarket Sweep. I thought I was the only one who ever watched that game show. I love it when you reaffirm my faith in … bad TV? Hope you are doing better…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

