I <3 Yoga

I <3 Yoga

Today was the first solidly good day I’ve had in weeks, and a lot of it was thanks to my new friend – my new Lenovo X1 Yoga. After having to deal with 4 different Surface Pros for just a little over a year – four of them because each of their predecessors crapped out and died – our IT department finally gave me the go-ahead to buy whatever I wanted since the Surface Pros are nothing but junk. I wanted to do it right, so I did some research and asked different people, and I decided on this guy. When I said on my 17 in ’17 list that I wanted to do more yoga, this isn’t what I had in mind, but I’ll take it! 😉

I ordered it at the beginning of January and it finally arrived today. Luckily, I was in the office, so I grabbed it from our mail room and took it back to my desk to work on setting it up. As I was trying to figure out how to set up my profile and transfer my data between the two computers, I saw one of our IT guys, Joe, talking with my boss’s boss’s boss. I asked if he’d be able to help and he agreed that I probably wasn’t the right person to set it up. So I cleared my afternoon and headed down to our IT department to hang with Joe while he set up Yoga.

In the past, the IT department has taken the two computers and did the setup without me in the room, but Joe was quite friendly and invited me to hang with him while he worked. We had an interesting discussion, but things really got crazy when I asked him to sync my Red Cross email address to Outlook so I could do mail merges from that account. I explained why I’d love to have it set up, and he agreed to help me, and he also divulged that he works on a RC shelter team that’s super-close to my house. I’ve been learning more and more about the shelter process and the different teams we have and what’s involved with them, and he was able to give me a detailed description of the last time he had to open his shelter. Not only that, but he also told me about a really super cool team that I’m going to look into becoming a part of – it’s separate from the volunteer stuff, and it involves weekends (multiple) worth of training, but it sounds really awesome.

Before today, I’d never really spent much time in IT, and that’s because I generally get the feeling that they hate people like me with my dumb questions and generally helpless nature, but I’m really glad I spent a couple hours with Joe today. Within those hours, I got a new, completely amazing computer set up (seriously, I LOVE it so far!!), and I sort of got to multitask volunteer stuff/work stuff/some new and exciting stuff. Plus, I was able to get to know someone new (to me), and that’s always a really nice thing.

If all that’s not indicative of a good day, I don’t know what is.

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

