Re-Stocking

Re-Stocking

I’m in a weird situation where there’s the slight possibility my income will be slashed by nearly $20,000 between my two jobs, sometime in the near future. It’s not a certainty by any means, and I’m slowly coming to terms with what that might mean for me in terms of what I spend money on and what I’m willing to splurge on or give up. (And for the record, I’m bringing the change on myself – it’s a GOOD thing if it happens; not a bad thing.)  Today was a day full of considering lots of what-ifs and I realized that maybe I should try to stock up on some staples so that I can better handle the transition should it happen. And if it doesn’t happen, well, I needed the staples anyway.

Enter: a day full of grocery shopping at Costco and Aldi. By the time I was done, the back of my car was full of ingredients that can either be individually frozen (like gigantic bags of frozen broccoli florets) or thrown together into a meal and frozen for quick-grab meals (like chicken and sweet potatoes).  Then once I got home, I spent the entire afternoon and evening cooking – prepping and roasting 4 large pans of vegetables and making an enormous pressure-cooker full of a kitchen sink-style beef + vegetable stew. I don’t think I’m going to have to worry about what to eat for at least the next two weeks at this point, so mission accomplished!

Considering I was super-anxious for this weekend, it actually turned out kind of decent. Yesterday’s training class went well, the work event was okay, the after-party was much easier than expected, and then I was able to get a lot of things done today. I’m darn near exhausted and quite a bit sore (I’ve slept maybe 7 hours total since Thursday and I did lots of running/stairs/lifting yesterday), but I’m hoping all the craziness this weekend is the catalyst for a peaceful start to the week. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

