Speakeasies & Fancy Pants

Speakeasies & Fancy Pants

I probably shouldn’t get so excited about this, since it’s sort of sexist that I’m the only female on my team and I’m the one who’s been requested to handle this stuff, but I got to spend part of the day outside the office today touring hotels. Like last year, I’m responsible for helping to coordinate our team’s offsite meeting in March. Today the plan was to visit some pre-arranged hotels and get a feel for conference room sizes for multiple uses, and to check out guest rooms.

The super-weird thing about the day was that at both hotels I visited, both people showing me around said the same thing, “Lindsay, where do I know you from? Your name sounds really familiar.” I have no idea what that’s all about, but it was kind of funny. My boss’s boss, who was with me, joked that I’m the most famous unfamous person in Pittsburgh. I must just have that kind of name, I guess?

Anyway, both tours lasted about an hour, and both places had their pros (a speakeasy vs suites in every room) and a couple cons (low ceilings vs not enough rooms for breakout sessions), but I see a clear favorite. Neither I nor my boss’s boss are in charge of the financial aspect, and we weren’t provided estimates, but we both agreed on which of the two we like better. I can give you a hint: I much-preferred the one that took me out to lunch, even when my boss’s boss had to decline.

I ended up talking with one of the hotel managers over a long lunch of gumbo and steak frites, and we had a great time. We didn’t talk shop during lunch, but we talked travel, jobs, etc. I, of course, talked about volunteering, and got the same reaction that I get when I talk to anyone new about our team – the person I was talking to seemed interested and said, “Wow, I can definitely tell how passionate you are about it. What makes you love it so much?” And that was all I needed to completely bombard her with more info than she could have ever asked for. 🙂 But really, we had a great time, and it was very nice of her to take me out to lunch. That’s not the reason why I like that hotel more (there are legitimate logistical points to consider), but it sure didn’t hurt!

So although I wasn’t fond of coming into the office early this morning when I struggled to get out of bed, now I’m glad I did. It turned out to be a pretty great day after all. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

