Sour Hour

Sour Hour

The plan for today, cooked up yesterday evening, was to do some reconnaissance work for the volunteer team. So I grabbed a friend and stole borrowed a corporate vehicle, and we headed to Waynesburg, PA on a road trip. We’ve agreed to help out the Waynesburg team with some mapping for an upcoming smoke alarm installation rally, so our plan was to creep through the town at a snail’s pace, making notes on the paper maps I’d printed out right before we left. It was neither the prettiest nor the most efficient process, but we got the job done. The people of Waynesburg probably thought we were hopelessly lost (or stalking someone), but that’s okay. 🙂

Before heading back home, we looked for a place to eat, but Waynesburg seemed almost like a ghost town – the only restaurant that appeared to be open within the entire town (and believe me, we drove through each street) was a Chinese restaurant. I wasn’t feeling it, so we left. On the way back, I made my friend research some places that might be on our route home, and he came up with Insurrection Aleworks in Heidelberg. By that point, we were starving, so we stopped. Or rather, I was starving and I was the one driving, so we stopped. Funny how the rules of the road work that way. 🙂

Since it’s Patriots Day, erm, I mean Cheat Day, I went hog-wild. We each ordered a bottle of “Pink Yoga Pants,” which is Insurrection’s take on a gose, or sour beer. It was actually really good, I was impressed. For an early dinner, I opted to go all-out on a Genovetta sandwich, which was incredible. Although, it’s been months since I’ve had a sandwich, so I can’t be sure if it was really that good, or if my brain was having an intense emotional reaction to it. Based on the ingredients, I’m pretty sure it’s just that darn good.

Eventually we made our way back to the office and I made my way back home to work on the updated maps for the rally. It was a fun day, though, and I’m kind of looking forward to the next mapping project we get. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sour Hour

  1. maryaquino says:

    Oh my. Cheat Day? Really?

    Like

Leave a Reply

