Comparisons

Comparisons

Happy Monday, friends. Rumor has it a good portion of the country had off work today for President’s Day, but not yours truly. That’s okay, though, because I’m taking Friday off instead. Friday > Monday, right?

I’m taking Friday off because I have the final interview for the potential new job on Friday afternoon. I got a call this past Friday evening with the news that I’m moving on to the final round, and then today I got an email confirmation with the date/time/location of the interview. Within the email today, I also received information on the benefits package, which means I’ve been obsessively comparing and contrasting my current benefits to the new ones. I had a minor freak-out when I saw the PTO days, but it turns out I was looking at the wrong area – as a salaried employee, I’d be “exempt,” which means my starting days off would be close to what I currently have. There are a lot of things to think about, but at least the benefits are similar enough to not make too much of a difference.

If nothing else, even if the job doesn’t pan out (and I’d be fine with that… and not to mention a lot richer), this process is forcing me to think about what I really want out of life. Plus, it’s making me realize what I already have – I didn’t realize how awesome our benefits are until I started comparing them, and the spreadsheet doesn’t even account for the little perks, like Beer Friday, free lunches on Wednesdays and Thursdays, free Starbucks coffee (drip), free fresh fruit delivered to the office on Tuesday and Thursday, and a hefty per diem when we travel.

So no matter what, I’ve come to realize that I’m in a good place and I’ll still be in a good place even if I switch things up a bit. It’s nice to finally feel “comfortable” in life after needing to be scrappy for so long. 🙂

 

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

