So Close, Yet So Far Away

So Close, Yet So Far Away

The past few mornings, I’ve woken up with a sore throat and swollen glands that have persisted throughout the day, but this morning was just awful – I woke up and my throat was so swollen that I could barely swallow. Add to that night sweats, which I can only assume is a fever, a sore neck (probably due to the swelling), and general achiness, and I fear I may have caught something. I’m not quite at the point where I feel like I need to see a doctor – I usually only do that if I think I might be dying – but I am at the point where I’m choking down vitamin C tablets on a regular basis and trying to stay hydrated.

Three things did sort of make my day a little better; two of which aren’t your typical “good” things. The first is that I finally got a rejection email about the job, as I expected I would after discovering that living in another county is a deal-breaker. Granted, I wasn’t glad that I was rejected (obviously), but I was relieved to finally get an answer. After I found out, I made a list of things I’m going to enjoy by staying at my current job, and an extra $27,000/year is pretty high on the list. So is working from home, free lunches, business trips, and a high degree of flexibility. A few friends have been calling and texting every day to find out if I’d gotten an answer, so I let them know… and I got the nicest flurry of texts and emails from them. Honestly, their responses detailing why they’re disappointed for me but secretly glad I’m staying in Allegheny County almost made me cry at my desk. I don’t think I can in good conscience say “No one cares” anymore, because clearly I’ve found the best people in the world who seem to care more about me than I do. ❤

Another thing that made my day better was getting my first PulsePoint CPR notification. I was talking to my former boss (we’re pals), and my phone lit up with the notification that someone needed CPR just a few blocks away. Without thinking, and without offering my ex-boss much of an explanation, I rushed for the elevator, down 24 floors, out into the street, and ran the few blocks to the location. I literally ran up to the door as a firefighter jumped from a truck, so I didn’t get to actually do anything, but man! That was so exhilarating! I feel bad that someone needed CPR, but I was so excited that I just went into auto-pilot and didn’t think twice. Since the new job didn’t work out, maybe I should consider becoming a first responder? (No joke, when I told my friend Dude about the job back when I was still interviewing, he said, “Why don’t you just become a firefighter and be done with it? You know that’s what you’d be best at anyway.”) Anyway, seeing that alert and responding the way I did was a strange highlight to my day. 🙂

And finally, the last thing that made my day better is that I got to spend about half of my day roaming around downtown Pittsburgh trying to find a spot for a work happy hour next week. I got carte blanche to pick the venue, the food, and the drinks, and I have a decent budget to work with. I was also allowed to just roam free for a good four hours, which was exactly the distraction I needed today.

So while I wish I’d gotten the job, I’m going to remain relatively happy at my current job (and I won’t need to scrape by to buy necessities with $27k less per year). And while I wish I could easily swallow, not be achy, and be comfortable temperature-wise, I still have the option to work from home if need be (and I have unlimited sick days, so there’s that). This was definitely not the worst outcome, and it’s forced me to be thankful for the things I have.

Maybe there was a lesson in all of this after all. 😉

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So Close, Yet So Far Away

  1. maryaquino says:

    Okay, I suppose I could have been emailing you about the position but of course, we really don’t KNOW each other having not met face to face yet but…I am happy you got a response. I’m happy you are “zen” with the outcome. I truly think, after reading your blog for like…seems like forever but I think it might be 2 years…maybe 3 (it seems like three vacations to Myrtle Beach) that you will excel at whatever you put your mind to. You know I adore the fact that you volunteer – the spirit of volunteerism is 20 years deep in my soul, having worked for Blackbaud for that long. And I’m pondering a new volunteer venture too. Nothing as giving as the Red Cross – just the local symphony orchestra. Anyway, not about me. You go girl. Congrats, yay for you, rock on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

