Traitor

Traitor

The title for today’s post has multiple relevant meanings for me on this fine Thursday, but let’s stick to the light-hearted one for today’s story.

Our work conference ended this evening, and we concluded with the executive folks thanking a bunch of people. As with most meetings, there was a PowerPoint deck that was presented and the execs stood in front of the room to address everyone. The exec folks had all taken a moment to thank me privately for taking the event photos, so I wasn’t expecting any public recognition and I wasn’t surprised when I didn’t see any mention of my name on the thank you slides. My boss’s boss took exception, though, and stood up in front of everyone and said that I did a, b, c, x, y, and z. Honestly, he didn’t mention the photography part at all, and it was a long list, so it at least sounded like I really did a lot. In retrospect, maybe that’s why some days over the past few weeks have been so crazy…

Well, the execs felt terrible for leaving me off the PowerPoint deck (even though I neither noticed nor cared), so they asked me to stand up. Then they made me go up in front of the room (roughly 120 people) and stand there with my face turning bright red while they all said nice things about me. In their minds, they were thanking me; in my mind, it was a unique form of torture. 😉 Anyway, at the end of it all, they gave me a few small gifts, and one of them was a package with these four buttons in it. Apparently our VP is a big PSU fan and he and his wife make these buttons and hand them out to everyone. What he didn’t know is that I graduated from Pitt, and there’s a huge Pitt – Penn State rivalry, so I felt really really weird accepting PSU buttons. There’s another reason (having to do with the bank that’s apparently a sponsor) why these buttons made me feel traitorous, but some things shouldn’t be put on the internet.

Anyway, I’m very glad the conference is over, but kind of sad to see my remote coworkers leave. Over the course of the year, I always forget how fun everyone can be since over half of our team lives elsewhere, but we always get along so great when we’re together. Guess I’ll have to wait until next year to see most of them again.

Until then, is it rude to modify those buttons to make them more Pitt-friendly? 😉

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

