Taco Party!

This past Friday, I was invited to bring a guest along with me to attend the soft opening of Condado Tacos in Downtown Pittsburgh. The weather had turned brutally cold and windy, so getting there was less than fun, but thankfully it was nice and warm inside.

Back when the space was Tonic Bar, I’d been in it once, but I’d never realized there was an upstairs. That’s where we were seated on Friday, and it was nice because we were able to look out onto 10th St/William Penn Place while we waited for our food and drinks.

We started off with tortilla chips served with guacamole, queso blanco, and salsa verde. There’s a huge list of guacamole/salsa/queso options, but we went with some standard ones so that we could get a good feel for the place. We were not disappointed at all – the salsa verde was good, but the queso blanco and the guacamole were fantastic. Personally, I couldn’t stop eating them, and I basically filled up on them. It didn’t hurt that a server came around and replenished our tortillas after a little while.

Condado Tacos Soft Opening 3/10/17

For drinks, I chose an Acapulco Gold margarita and my friend Phil got a blood orange margarita. The Acapulco Gold was okay, and tasted like your standard margarita, but I opted for a blood orange margarita with a Grand Marnier floater for my second one. The blood orange with Grand Marnier is the way to go – it was super-good.

Condado Tacos Soft Opening 3/10/17

For our tacos, we went for the build-your-own options. If you’ve ever been to Burgatory, you know the process – you tear off a strip of paper and check off the different options for what you want. You can choose different tortillas, meats, cheeses, sauces, toppings, etc. Condado also has some taco “suggestions” for people who are daunted by so many choices. I’m all about customizing my food, so I appreciated the build-your-own option.

Condado Tacos Soft Opening 3/10/17

I chose three tacos, thinking they’d be small, but they were actually quite substantial and I ended up taking half of them home. The big difference between the three was the meat options – I chose pulled pork with chorizo for one, ghost pepper marinated steak for another, and bbq pulled jackfruit for my third. I’d never tried jackfruit before, but I’d heard good things about it being a great vegetarian option. I waited to try that one last, but it certainly wasn’t my least favorite; it was pretty awesome (and didn’t taste “vegetarian” at all). My favorite of all of them was the ghost pepper marinated steak – it wasn’t nearly as spicy as I’d expected it to be, but it had a really great flavor. The pulled pork was good as well, but the steak and the jackfruit overshadowed it.

We ended up having a great time sampling all the food and drinks at Condado, and I’m glad I braved the cold and the wind to go.

For those of you in Pittsburgh, Condado is now officially open, and they’re giving away a free taco to guests today, as well as half-priced margaritas all day for their opening. I can guarantee you I’ll be stopping in for a little late lunch or pre-volunteering treat today. 😉

** Note: I was invited to attend the soft opening of Condado Tacos, but I was neither asked to write about the experience, nor compensated for doing so. All opinions are my own, and all the margaritas are soon-to-be in my belly. **

 

 

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Taco Party!

  1. maryaquino says:

    Jackfruit question: was the consistency meaty (I consider portabella mushrooms meaty, FYI) or soft and (for lack of a better word) squishy like tofu? I’ve wanted to try it but not had the opportunity yet.

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      Well, it was bbq-style, so it was slathered in bbq sauce and shoved into a taco with a million other things. But it seemed to have the consistency of cabbage, from what I could tell – stringy (not in a bad way) and just a teensy bit crunchy.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

