Mud On The Tires

Mud On The Tires

My car is getting inspected on Friday (nothing like waiting until the last day it’s legal, right?), and I decided to be proactive about my tire situation this year. Every other year or so, they tell me I need at least two new tires (usually the front) in order to pass inspection, and every time I just have them put them on and charge me an exorbitant amount just so I can drive away and not have to worry about it. This year, I planned ahead and had my dad confirm the tread this past weekend – of course, the determination is that I’ll need new front tires to pass. Armed with that info, I went to Costco and ordered the tires; they came in last night and I stopped over immediately after work to get them put on.

Waiting for the installation afforded me over an hour to walk around the Waterfront and along the trail behind (beside?) the stores, so I spent my waiting period searching for bodies in the river. Didn’t find any, which I suppose is good, but let’s be real – I was a little disappointed.

Anyway, eventually the tires were on and I was able to drive away. When they brought my car out, I kind of just looked at the guy all confused – the front tires (and wheels!) were absolutely filthy! It looked like someone had driven through mud and then scraped against a curb. On both sides. I have no idea what they did while I was away, but wow, I wasn’t real impressed. I did stop before heading the whole way home and confirmed that the tires had full tread – at first glance, it looked like they’d just taken the old tires, rolled them around in dirt, and then put them back on. But no, thankfully, they’re new tires… they’re just filthy. Time will tell if the wheels themselves are just dirty or if they really did get scraped up – I didn’t spend much time or energy on them.

On the plus side, the cost for two tires and installation was only $20 or so more than the cost of one tire at the dealership, so I guess I don’t really care what they look like so long as they’re new and will pass inspection.

Honestly, though. Wipe up when you’re done, am I right?

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mud On The Tires

  1. Nothing Personal says:

    Good stuff. I had my car inspected last Friday, and while I didn’t need anything to pass, they suggested two new front tires. $75 turned into $24,075.

    And after some memory perusing, I realized I just had one of the front tires replaced not even two months earlier.

    Sucker.

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      Apparently the tire tread gauge thing my dad used is super-cheap at auto parts stores – like $3. I’d recommend grabbing one of those before your next inspection. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Nothing Personal says:

        That is a reasonable investment considering the alternative. Also, since tire rotation costs so much now (and since it’s almost summer), I decided to rotate my own tires once a month. It’s a manly job that only real men normally do, but I think I can take it. πŸ™‚

        Like

      • Nothing Personal says:

        Fake……..obviously.

        Like

  2. maryaquino says:

    Perfect comment to muddy tire guys: “What? Were you raised in a barn?” That’s crazy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

