Tiki Time

Tiki Time

There’s a long convoluted story about how my day progressed the way it did, but the short of it is that I was off work for an appointment that was canceled at the last minute by the dentist, so I went to work at my other (volunteer) office and broke in my new desk. I spent the day hanging out with some of my favorite people, got some work done (both work-work and volunteer-work), learned more about some changes coming up, and even got to spend some quality time with one of our staff members who moved to another department in the past year. He was awesome to chat with, and he offered his services to help me as I sort of transition/expand into a new leadership role. It was great to catch up, and even better to be offered help. It’s still weird to me that I can walk into that office and people know way more about me than I know about them. Especially people I never get to see, or people I’ve only ever met once or twice – it really kind of gives me a big head; it’s the only place where I feel a little famous… although, “infamous” may be a better word for it. 😉

After “work,” I made plans to meet my friend Tony for a drink at Hidden Harbor. I picked that place in part because I was heading to Squirrel Hill to go to the gym, but when I walked up to the gym door, I realized they were closed for a holiday. 😦  So instead, I got to walk around the cemetery for an hour or so, which was fun and exciting as always. We got our tiki drinks and spent some time catching up. It was nice to see him again, and nice to have tiki drinks – Hidden Harbor does not play when it comes to the alcohol in their libations. One drink and I’m done; it took me three hours to finish my fancy schmancy cocktail. Yum, though.

For having plans change at the last minute, and outside of my control, I made the most of the day, I think. Maybe I should have actually gone to work, but the day was already approved (and the cancellation wasn’t my doing). What kind of idiot would pass up a random day off if they didn’t have to – and besides, all of my meetings had already been canceled, so I wouldn’t have had anything to do if I’d worked. At least this way, I was able to get a bunch of things done and was able to get a bit more comfortable in my new volunteer office digs. Plus, I had lunch with our manager and she confirmed that the new desk in the office really is for me, so I guess I’m legit now.

Not bad for a Tuesday. Not bad at all!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

