Picturesque

Picturesque

I left work a little later today, but with the intention of dropping by the volunteer office to get some stuff done. I’ve been on a real brainstorming kick lately, and I’m probably driving a couple people crazy with all my emails and proposed changes, but this is what happens when you give me a title – the power goes to my head! 😉 Anyway, I left later than usual and was surprised to see the downtown area relatively not busy. Trees were in bloom, it was a nice moderate temperature and it was slightly overcast – not really cloudy and not really sunny. In essence, it was a rather picturesque evening in Pittsburgh.

I got to the office and noticed a couple people in our lobby on my way upstairs. I figured they were there for the orientation that was rescheduled from last night, and I wasn’t scheduled to lead the session, so I left them alone and made a mental note to stop by on my way out. I set up shop in the office and had just started writing down a bunch of things when one of our staff members walked past in the hallway shouting, “Hello? Anyone here?” I peeked out and stopped her and she was pretty relieved to see me – the people in the lobby were indeed the new trainees, but the orientation facilitator was nowhere in sight. So I headed downstairs to collect them and then brought them upstairs and did their orientation. I guess it was a good thing I was there anyway, cause otherwise they would’ve had to leave and we probably would have lost some new volunteers. But honestly. I always joke around that the volunteer office is my second home, but for real – maybe I should grab a cot from downstairs and set it up for myself. Now I’m anxious about future orientations – what if no one shows up and no one else is around? Sigh.

Anyway, other than that little snag and the fact that I fell HARD on a bridge while walking to the bus stop, the day went okay. I didn’t get done what I’d hoped to accomplish, but there’s plenty of time for that. In the meantime, I was able to welcome two new trainees to our team and we had some good conversations and got to know one another.

Not bad for a rocky start to the evening!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

