Chillin’

Chillin'

Today went almost exactly as planned, except I didn’t stop at the chocolate store because that would’ve been a suicide mission on the day before Easter (especially when it was so nice outside). I started my day off with breakfast at home, volunteer emails, and watching a giraffe give birth live on the internet, and then around noon I headed to the Tanger Outlets in Washington County. I was there specifically for undergarments, so it was about as much fun as expected. On the plus side, I didn’t realize there was a sale going on and you get 20% off your order when it’s your birthday month, so I got a good deal. That made the drive worth it, I suppose.

After shopping, I headed to Antney’s in Greentree for “lunch” (ice cream). I’d been trying to meet up with a friend, but his family was doing Easter dinner tonight and it was too close to dinner by the time I got there. So I had to eat ice cream all by myself, but that’s better than not eating ice cream at all, right? I got the three taster scoops option with brown sugar cinnamon cookie, coconut caramel brownie, and chocolate chip cookie dough. I only took a couple bites of each before packing the container to go, but they were delightful.

I didn’t know if I’d make it home before the ice cream melted, so I decided to stop along the way at the volunteer office. I put the ice cream in the freezer and then went upstairs to get some work done. I spent my late afternoon and early evening making over 150 copies of the booklet that we give out to clients, stuffing orientation packets, revising calendar requests on our website, and updating notes on a few volunteers. I didn’t plan on spending much time there, but before I knew it, it was nearly 7:30, I’d been there for hours, and my belly alarm was starting to go off. I packed up pretty quickly and headed home to drop off my ice cream, and then tried a nearby Chinese place for dinner – I figured since I was off work, I may as well live it up, right? The Chinese was actually pretty good, so I’m excited to have an option within walking distance. That might be dangerous, though – my steamed dumplings were really good, but I’m sure they weren’t good for me. 😉 I never did finish my ice cream, though, so there’s the tradeoff.

I didn’t do much that could be considered exciting, but I’d say this day off was a day well-spent – I did stuff for me, stuff for volunteers, stuff for clients, and stuff for anyone who sees me out in public (the new undergarments – you’re welcome, world). I have the rest of tonight and the morning of tomorrow to veg out and do nothing, and then it’s off to Easter dinner in the afternoon.

Hope y’all had a great Saturday! 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

