Neon

Neon

Ooof, today was a Monday, that’s for sure.

I think I spent more of my day taking care of volunteer stuff than doing my real work. The line between volunteer and staff is becoming increasingly blurry, and I’m starting to get a little confused. Scratch that, I’m a lot confused. So much that I ended up scheduling an in-person meeting for Thursday with the people I work with the most so that we can hash out what on earth is happening these days and who is taking care of which pieces of the puzzle. I’m sooooo lost, and starting to get a little frustrated.

On the one hand, I like the added responsibility. On the other, I’m not an employee and I don’t necessarily think I should be making certain decisions for the organization. Some decisions that have little bearing on the organization as a whole, sure. Others? Eeek. And yet, here we are. Meanwhile, I’ve spent almost the entire evening overhauling a process and documenting all the points I want to cover in Thursday’s meeting. We track our time online, and I think I’m at probably 8 or 9 hours worked today, just for volunteer activities… and I wasn’t even on-call or at a fire!

Luckily, I did escape the house for a little while today – I headed out to the gym wearing my flashy new neon shorts that I bought at the outlets on Saturday. I think it was literally the only time all day that could be considered mine, aside from when I was sleeping, getting a shower, and writing this post. And now the day is done and I need to get ready for bed so I can go do more of it tomorrow.

Last year at this time I almost didn’t want to go on vacation because I didn’t want to leave the volunteer stuff behind for more than a day. This year, I’m going to need a vacation because of it. (Don’t worry, I still love it all… just an intense day month year.)

Where’s the nearest beach, please?

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

