Second Best

Second Best

Thanks to a Twitter exchange with Nicole earlier this week, I learned that Hallmark stores are offering Sarris Easter candy at half off. I missed out on getting my gigantic peanut butter meltaway egg this year, so I figured I’d take a break from work today and check out the selection in the Fifth Avenue Shops Hallmark store.

It was mid-day Wednesday, almost three full days after Easter, so predictably, the selection was a bit lacking. There were still enormous filled eggs, but they were of the coconut, fruit & nut, and maple nut varieties. I strongly considered the maple nut one, but it’s just not the same. Alongside the gigantic eggs, they had smaller packages of Easter chocolates for half off, which is where I found the chocolate-covered marshmallow eggs. I grabbed two, just in case I end up really liking them (despite not really enjoying marshmallows in general). Then I found the smaller, single-serving peanut butter meltaway eggs on another shelf – they weren’t half-off. Still, that’s why I made the journey anyway, so I grabbed one. All told, I spent a little less than $3 on 3 Sarris chocolates. Not bad.

I wish I wouldn’t have waited so long to get there, and I ended up having to settle for second-best (the small version of the egg) and third-best (the chocolate-covered marshmallows), but I’m satisfied with my purchase regardless. Plus, these three will likely keep me occupied for three weeks – sometimes it pays to be an obnoxiously slow eater! 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

