Marching Orders

Marching Orders

I was so stressed out about today’s meeting with the senior manager of the volunteer team that I tossed and turned for hours last night before I finally succumbed to sleep. I can’t quite figure out why I was so anxious – we have a perfectly fine relationship – but it was a rough night nonetheless. Luckily, work kept me occupied through most of the day, so I didn’t have time to worry about it until it was time to leave. And by that time, we were under a tornado watch and there were rumors of a tornado in a nearby county and the sky was black, rain was coming down sideways, and roads were flooded, so I had other things to worry about while I was driving to the office.

When I got there, I was kind of at a loss for how to start the conversation – I had a four page single-spaced agenda full of questions and proposals that I wanted to cover, and I wasn’t sure what she had on her agenda. In all honesty, I wasn’t entirely positive why we were meeting – I knew we needed to discuss my Lead position, and we were both aware of my long list of agenda items, but someone else told me that the conversation might take a different shape (which is partly why I was so anxious, I think). Luckily, we stayed on task and not only did we cover her agenda and my enormous one, but we also nailed some stuff down and I got to ask some questions I’d been meaning to ask for months. And – the best part – is that very few of the responses to my proposals were “no.” I’d gotten the impression that a lot of what I was proposing wasn’t possible at the local level (we’re held to what National says we can do), so I was pleasantly surprised when all but one item received enthusiastic yeses.

When we talked about defining my role, she said I’m the manager of everyone else on the team (a few people have started to introduce me as their “boss” and it makes me shudder every time, which I’m pretty sure is why they keep doing it). She also said that I’m kind of her boss, too, and that I’m supposed to give her marching orders. So basically, I run this town. 😉 Kidding, kidding, but really, GEESH. It’s one thing to hear that stuff from other volunteers, but another entirely to hear it from the senior manager.

Part of me is a little disappointed the conversation didn’t veer off into the alternate path someone told me it would, but a larger part of me was relieved it didn’t. There’s enough awkwardness whenever I’m involved, so the world doesn’t need more. In the end, we got a ton of things done, and I’m starting to get excited about the next few weeks… plus, this is now slated to be a regular monthly meeting, so at least I know what to expect from here on out.

As for right now, my official marching orders for the night are to try to get some sleep for once. Don’t want to let the boss down! 😉

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

