Earned It

Earned It

Very little sleep Saturday into Sunday and then Sunday into Monday.

Even less sleep last night.

And yet I was completely wired all day today.

I couldn’t stop thinking about all the stuff that was covered in my meeting yesterday evening, so I spent almost the entire night thinking about volunteer things while I should have been sleeping. A lot of things usually come out of those middle of the night brainstorming sessions, and last night was no different.

I’ve learned I have a bit of an after-midnight email problem – I was sending emails to people as late as 3:44 this morning, only because I was so psyched up that I couldn’t wait (and couldn’t sleep). After I sent a few people multiple emails, I eventually started using my own email accounts as a buffer. Seems I have a lot of thoughts in the middle of the night, but not all of them are complete and fully fleshed out. 😉 So the new method I’m trying is to put the intended recipient’s name in the Subject line and then email myself… then in the morning, at a reasonable hour, I can compile the emails and [hopefully] sound semi-coherent when I send one email (instead of 10) to the desired recipient. That didn’t happen at the beginning of last night, though, so some people got 10 rambling emails instead of one. Whoops!

The payoff for that is that I spent a decent portion of the day and pretty much all evening responding to their responses. Serves me right, to be honest, but I don’t mind in the slightest. I’ve actually been having fun with the emails, so it hasn’t felt like work. Plus, some of the things I emailed myself last night/this morning were additional ideas for how to do things with our team, so I had a nice productive base with which to start my evening on-call shift. With the weather we’ve been having, I’m kind of surprised we haven’t had a disaster call tonight, but that’s worked in my favor – instead of going out, I’ve managed to set up some meetings with other volunteers, got admin access to another site, added myself to a new Sharepoint group, obtained a new role in our training system, solidified a new process, solicited feedback on the new process, created a new Orientation PowerPoint deck (and received good feedback), and proposed a new way to glean information on what is and what is not working for our new volunteers in order to hopefully keep them around.

I’d say I earned my paycheck tonight. (Har har har. Get it?) 🙄 (<– THIS is what happens when I don’t sleep for days.)

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Earned It

  1. maryaquino says:

    You used the word glean. Nice.

    Although it isn’t 3:44, I’m having trouble getting to sleep because I’ve got a ton of ideas for my upcoming presentations that I DIDN’T have btwn 9-6 today when I was trying to work on them….so, I emailed the ideas to myself because I refuse to get out of bed just to record these ideas….

    Hope you get some rest soon…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

