Ice Cube Said It Best

Ice Cube Said It Best

I have neither a drop-top nor a pager, but like Ice Cube, I didn’t have to use my A-K. Today was a good day indeed.

Last night wasn’t the greatest night ever, but I was able to sleep a bit more than usual (sooooo needed), and then I met my grandmas at Oakmont Bakery in the early afternoon. They got some goodies and I bought a cake to take to my friends’ house later in the evening, and then we headed to the Waterworks. None of us knew what we wanted to eat, but it was almost 3 by the time we got there, so crowds weren’t an issue. Given the good timing, we headed to Burgatory since I haven’t been there in probably two years or so.

I got my standard caramel pretzel shake, which is still one of the best things I’ve ever put in my mouth, and one of my grandmas got a strawberry shake. The other just got coffee to drink. Clearly, I take after one of them more than the other. For my burger, I chose a fiddy-fiddy burger (half beef, half bacon) with sweet onion dust, buffalo cheddar, grilled onions, red onions, banana peppers, and bread & butter pickles with Guinness honey mustard. It was fantastic, as every custom creation is. The grandmas were pleased with their burgers as well, which is no small feat – one (the one who got the shake) will eat pretty much anything (like me); the other is extremely picky and not afraid to loudly voice her opinion for the entire restaurant to hear. So really, when the picky grandma is happy, we’re all happy.

After lunch, I grabbed some veggies at Aldi, then headed home to roast them before heading to my friends’ house. They’d invited one other person, but they couldn’t come, so it was the three of us. It was fantastic, though – they grilled and we drank margaritas and vented about all the things going on in our lives. Due to the circumstances around which we came to know each other, we have some things in common… some things that have been driving me crazy lately and that formerly drove them crazy. I never used to be a talk-it-out type of person, but after a previous experience about a month ago and now tonight, I’m becoming a believer. These people know all the people I’m referring to when I tell a story, so that makes it easier. Plus, they know the other people even better than I do, so I can get a better frame of reference when I question whether a previous conversation was out of the norm or not. Driving home tonight, I felt more relaxed than I’ve felt since probably that day a month ago when I vented to someone else over brunch – I finally felt validated that I wasn’t imagining the weirdness.

Besides venting, we had a great time catching up and I even got some puppy snuggles (though not from my puppies). I wished we lived closer together so we could visit more often; that said, I’ve been told I have a standing invitation. Talking to them seemed to make me feel somewhat-chill after the insane week I had, so I might just have to take them up on that offer! 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

