Liquid Tylenol

Liquid Tylenol

Originally, I’d planned on spending tonight at the gym and taking some training courses in preparation for our disaster institute this weekend, but I think I’m close to reaching my breaking point. I’ve had a lot of late nights, a lot of early mornings, tons of physical activity, and more than my fair share of stress over the last couple weeks. So I made an impromptu decision to take the night off tonight… well, almost. I’m technically on-call as a supervisor and I had to field a few calls tonight (and I did a lot of volunteer work while I was on calls at work today), but I don’t have to go out tonight unless it’s a really major situation (and even then, I’m still probably staying home and coordinating things with computers and phones).

So instead of going to the gym, I went a few doors down to the liquor store and bought some black rum and some white rum. Then I went to the Walmart across the street and bought cream of coconut and pineapple orange juice. I didn’t know what I wanted to do with everything, but I knew I wanted rum, I wanted it to be incredibly strong, and I wanted it to taste like I’m at the beach.

I ended up with a strong iteration of a painkiller cocktail – 4 rums + cream of coconut + pineapple orange juice + ice. I had one and I couldn’t feel my legs (which was good, because they’ve been sore from all the running around I’ve been doing). Then I made another and had to stumble through the kitchen to reach my phone when it rang with a disaster call. Needless to say, I drank the second one much slower, and I chased it with dinner.

I feel pretty darn fine right about now, though. Aside from pretending I’m at the beach with a frou-frou drink, I’ve enjoyed watching some movies from Redbox – I just finished Hidden Figures (loved it!) and now I’ve just started La La Land. I have the rest of the week off from work, and my only obligation for tomorrow is to show up at the volunteer chapter in time to load our ERV and road trip to the institute with the 3 other people from our chapter who are going early to set things up. I think I can handle that. 🙂

Cross your fingers that we don’t get a disaster call overnight (I’m on-call until 6 am), and that I can get to sleep at a reasonable hour and stay asleep for once!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Liquid Tylenol

  1. Nothing Personal says:

    This is a remarkably well-written article considering. I went out for 2 post-birthday beers and then wrote a blog about cutting grass that is so bad I don’t want to read it ever again. Hashtag lightweight.

    Like

Leave a Reply

