Upside Down Day

Upside Down Day

When I went to visit my parents on Sunday, they sent me home with a piece of pineapple upside down cake – it’s kind of becoming one of my dad’s signature dishes and it’s pretty tasty. I finally got around to eating it today as part of my lunch, and I ended up being thankful for the extra sustenance later in the day.

I ended up working from home, simply because I’ve been so darn tired lately and getting home around 1am last night/this morning (ugh, yesterday morning at this point) didn’t help. I left my house to go to our volunteer chapter at around 4:30, thinking I’d have ample time to get there. NOPE. Alllll the traffic happened. It was like rush hour traffic on crack, and it took me over an hour to get there. By the time I got in, set up my computer and the materials I was presenting, gathered the orientation packets, checked in with another volunteer and then went downstairs to collect my new trainees, I was already beat. The orientation went well, and the new trainees asked a lot of questions (which I love – really!), and I got to show them how our disaster texting system works in real-time, meaning there was a text out for a team leader to go on a call.

We ended up getting someone else to go, but since the team was showing up as my trainees were leaving, I decided to go with them. Secretly, I was trying to evaluate whether or not to promote someone, so I did have an ulterior motive. By the time we went, handled the call, came back, and finished up paperwork, it was nearly 11:30. So from around 1 pm until after midnight, when I got home, I didn’t eat anything.

Current status: starved and tired, and just generally dreading tomorrow morning. I feel like my days are my nights and my nights are my days. I’m all sorts of discombobulated.

So now here I sit, trying to figure out what I can scrounge up for dinner. Thank goodness I had that piece of cake with lunch; I’m not sure I would’ve made it so long otherwise!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Upside Down Day

  1. maryaquino says:

    So this is where I go with all that awesome other stuff you do…

    Does your dad use Cast Iron to make his pineapple upside down cake? I’m just wondering. I had a moderate fail on Sunday so I am just looking to anyone who’s made it to see their methods.

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      He doesn’t – he uses a regular cake pan. Makes more that way. 😉

      I’ve had nothing but issues with cast iron pans, but I think it has something to do with my mom and grandma never using them (so I never learned how to use them and take care of them). I’ve googled and I’ve made attempts at using them, but they skeeve me out a little bit. (In my mind, “seasoning” = “dirty pans.”)

      Like

Leave a Reply

