Five Things Friday: 5/19/17 Edition

FullSizeRender.jpg

I’m living such a surreal experience this weekend, and I can’t even fully explain why {publicly}. But to give you a little hint, the guy who got the job I was up for a couple months ago was in a training session with me this morning and afternoon and let’s just say I was underwhelmed by him. Maybe it’s the fact that he asked what his actual job responsibilities are in the middle of class. Or maybe it’s that every time I looked over at him, he was intently drawing on a notepad while the rest of the class was rapt with attention. Or, more than likely, it’s the fact that I just found out today that the dude couldn’t hack the job and just gave his notice. Whatever the reason, I was not amused.

There is sooooo much more to this story, but it’s way too early to tell it. Let’s just say I was suddenly thrust into a lot of peoples’ attention tonight and I was shuttled around and introduced to all the different volunteers in that chapter after dinner and I’m not quite sure how I should feel about that. Back to the era of uncertainty, I guess. Yeesh.

  1. Currently Reading: I’m not working on it very quickly, but I started reading Naked At Lunch: A Reluctant Nudist’s Adventures in the Clothing-Optional World, by Mark Smith. In all honesty, I was looking for Naked Lunch, which is an entirely different book, but that one wasn’t available and this one was. So far, I like it more than I’d expected. We’ll see how much time I have to devote to it this weekend.
  2. Currently Eating: Well, eating is not quite the word, but a friend and I hit up the liquor store and went halfsies on some spiced rum and diet ginger ale. We didn’t sign any sort of residence life document, so we’re living it up. Everyone knows where the party’s at tonight!

    Aside from rum, eating cafeteria food… but it’s actually not bad. Tonight I had tilapia and vegetables; for lunch I had a bunless burger, fries, and a salad. Tastes pretty good (and it’s free).

  3. Currently Watching: Season 2 of Master of None. I’m actually enjoying it quite a bit more than season 1, which is nice.
  4. Currently Loving: This weekend, which is a rarity for me. Normally I despise weekends because it’s just work on top of more work. And I guess technically I’m doing some sort of work this weekend, but it’s the kind of work that I love and want to do, so it doesn’t count.

    I’m especially loving the camaraderie within this organization, even among chapters who I’ve been told resent us (“Pittsburgh gets all the funding”). As expected, everyone I’ve met has been fantastic, and I’m so glad I’m staying the weekend so that I can make lots of new friends. Lots of networking going on, too. ::wink, wink::

  5. Currently Anticipating: The rest of this weekend – one of my favorite people arrives either tonight or tomorrow, and I’m already so excited!

    Outside of volunteer stuff, I’ve been informed I have at least two business trips coming up most likely. One is coming up the first full week of June, to a place I’ve never been before (though it hasn’t been confirmed), and the other is back to my old friends in Birmingham in July (also not confirmed). I’m pretty jazzed about both!

    Oh, and Memorial Day weekend is coming up! More days off! Huzzah!!

That’s it for this week! Time to go back to being a social butterfly and schmooze with all the people! 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

