Heavy Metals

Heavy Metals

Hola, friends!

I had a really busy but kind of good day at work today. In the morning, a coworker brought in these Indian candies named kaju-anjeer katli made from cashews, figs, and silver – like, real silver. They were strangely delicious, and we spent the rest of the day making jokes about eating metal.

Then, around 11:30, I was leading a call and sharing my screen and my boss’s boss came over to my desk, moved my backpack out of the way, opened my desk drawer, put a bottle of Templeton Rye in the drawer, and then moved the backpack back to where it was. Didn’t say a word, just slyly transferred some whiskey to my desk. I was trying to pay attention to what I was doing in the call, but I couldn’t help giggling when I saw what he was doing. So yeah…

And then even later, they opened up our beer fridge for a Pirates game celebration and I was surprised to see a lot of interesting beers available. I normally skip beer days, simply because I’d rather have hard liquor (see above), but there were a lot of unique-sounding fruit beers in the fridge today, so I grabbed some. Although I grabbed three over the course of the afternoon, I only popped the top on the DuClaw Morgazm and only drank about 3/4 of it before I threw the rest out. That was because they also brought in Rita’s, Philly Pretzel Factory, and Pittsburgh Popcorn Co.; I wanted to sample a little of everything and the beer didn’t go so well with the Rita’s ice. Let’s just say it hasn’t been the best food week, health-wise, this week.

I had plans to meet my friend Tony at Jabo’s after work, and I’d intended to take the bus to my car and then drive back into town to meet him, but my 4:30-5 call ran almost 40 minutes long and I didn’t get a chance to get it. Instead, Tony agreed to drive me back to my car (what a guy, eh?), and I was left with a few extra minutes for my commute. So naturally, I did what any normal person would do, and I stopped by the volunteer office to use my minutes wisely (besides, it was on the way!). While I was there, and since no one was in the office with me, I decided I’d try to open my desk drawers. You see, they gave me a desk in an office and there are drawers and filing cabinets, but my desk drawers have been missing keys since day one (and the drawers are, of course, locked). A couple weeks ago, I’d asked for a key, and I was given the keys to the kingdom – literally, I now have access to anything and everything in the office… except for my desk drawers. None of the keys fit. So I tried again tonight, without other people around, and still no dice. So I grabbed a couple paper clips and tried to MacGyver my way into the drawers. I watched YouTube videos, read how-to articles, and generally fidgeted with the lock for about 15 minutes before I gave up. Still no entry into the drawers… but I just ordered a lock-picking kit from Ebay tonight, so hopefully I’ll be able to get them open in a couple weeks.

Eventually, I made my way to the bar and we had our drinks and some food. It’s always a fun time to hang out with Tony, even if the poor guy does have to listen to me whine a lot. 🙂 Jabo’s wasn’t bad, and the drinks were pretty cheap, so I’m sure I’ll be back at some point!

All in all, it was a good day filled with heavy (but delicious) food and drinks, and even a little bit of metal. Rock on.

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Heavy Metals

  1. maryaquino says:

    \m/
    I wasn’t gonna comment at all but…it had to be done…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nothing Personal says:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TjuQX2g8uNo What an awesome and fun night! Thanks for coming out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

