Golden Nuggets

Golden Nuggets

Today was a rough one – it started early, I had a lot of meetings, and I had a lot of work to get done outside of the meetings. It was basically go-go-go all day, with the exception of lunch. Work brought in Chik-Fil-A for lunch today, which meant mounds of nuggets piled up in our Bistro. I’m not much of a Chik-Fil-A girl, but it was a welcome change from our usual lunch options. If you’re wondering, I’m not quite sure what the dressing packets were for (there was no salad), but I grabbed one anyway.

Some volunteer things have been blowing up over the past couple days, and I nearly lost my mind with them yesterday and today, so I made it a point to finish up work at a reasonable hour and headed to my second office while there were still people there. I didn’t necessarily intend to have a long discussion; I was there on a specific mission, but that’s what happened anyway. My manager and I have been collaborating on some things lately, and we’ve been trading a few documents back and forth. We have a meeting scheduled in about a week and a half, but there are so many moving parts right now that we ended up having an impromptu meeting. We discussed some hot ticket items, and then things took an awkward turn thanks to me. It was kind of a good awkward, in the end, but I’m still mentally processing everything. I can say this, though – it’s not often you get to genuinely surprise a person these days, and I legitimately, visibly surprised her with what I had to say. I’m still kind of giggling about it, just because it’s so rare to have a low-volume conversation with someone and make them physically jump with your words.

On the plus side, we got a lot of things done and I feel much better about some of the situations we’re dealing with; additionally, I have a better idea of where I stand with some things now. Also on the plus side, it sounds like there’s a possibility I might be pegged to take on a larger leadership role within the region at some point (as opposed to just our chapter). The only downside to the whole conversation is that a dream was crushed a bit… but I guess it’s better to know something for sure than to have to keep guessing.

So say what you will about Chik-Fil-A and their nuggets, but those little golden beauties fueled me through quite a work day and a post-work conversation full of ups and downs.

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

