Time Out

Time Out

This morning was supposed to be mine. All mine. I was supposed to be completely oblivious to the goings-on at the volunteer office. And yet, I was woken up by a flurry of texts at 5:30 this morning and it’s been go-go-go ever since.

I’m not quite sure how I got involved with things, since I’m clearly not on the schedule today and I told everyone in earshot that I wanted just one morning to myself, but involved I was.

Later in the morning, between incidents, I logged into my volunteer email and saw that I had some regular day-to-day operational stuff to take care of, so I did. Part of that necessitated a text to our manager, but that was a huge mistake. The response I received back was something along the lines of, “Can’t deal with this right now.” Then I was mysteriously added onto another text string to handle an issue because I guess the person who was supposed to handle it just couldn’t… ?

Needless to say, I ended my morning just a liiiiiiittle bit frustrated. I understand we have a lot going on right now – I’ve been in the thick of it for the past week. But at the same time, I’m trying to keep the everyday stuff running smoothly in order to free up our staff for more pressing matters. The last thing I needed today was a snippy text when the question I asked required a simple yes or no answer. Plus, I’m just a volunteer, and I’d appreciate it if people asked if I could help with things instead of throwing me into them and assuming I’ll handle them. Is that asking too much?

Anyway, I’m heading into work just a bit annoyed, and frankly glad that I have a good excuse to get away for the afternoon and evening – I truly can’t do the volunteer stuff while I’m bartending, so they’ll have to deal with things without me for the rest of the night. In short, work is the forced time out I’ve been waiting for all week.

In the meantime, I have some comfort food for lunch to try to de-stress before work. I’m not big on mac & cheese, but sometimes it’s warranted… and adding Everything Bagel seasoning onto it? Genius, if I do say so myself.

Wish me luck at not losing my mind tonight, and fingers crossed that people stop texting me early in the morning when I’m clearly unavailable. Argh.

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

