Let’s Save The World

Let's Save The World

You guys. I took the night off. Like, entirely. Turned my phone off and tucked it down in the bottom of a large dark bag where I couldn’t easily find it. I think yesterday might have been the straw that broke the camel’s back, for reasons I won’t go into. I figured I should legitimately take the night off before a one night hiatus becomes something much longer and more serious.

So I went to the gym and then took myself out to the movies! I’ve heard nearly everyone rave about Wonder Woman for weeks now, so I figured a rainy evening was just as good a night as any to shut my phone off and veg out in a dark theatre. I went to see it at Penn Hills Cinema, which is kind of my own little secret – my ticket was $5, I got free popcorn, and there were only four other people in the theatre with me. Penn Hills Cinema > Regal/Lowe’s/Cinemark any day of the week.

Anyway, Wonder Woman. I knew nothing at all about the story going into the movie, aside from the fact that she wears a cape. Really – zero backstory. For a kid who grew up in the 80s, I feel like society somehow failed me.

So I watched it, knowing full well that everyone who’s seen it loves it. I’m skeptical, though, and I tried to hate on it (because everyone loves it). The best I could do is that they never really show or explain how she mysteriously manages to keep that unwieldy sword and shield with her everywhere she goes (honestly, one second she’s on a horse; the next she’s dodging things with a shield – was she sitting on the shield while on the horse??), and it seems highly unlikely that her hair and makeup would look that amazing after she’s been traveling with dudes and not showering for days during WWI. I mean, come on, at least smudge some dirt on her face (no, don’t, it’ll probably make her hotter).

So yeah, it’s safe to say I loved it. I laughed. I cried. I left the theatre wanting to save the world (and to hit the gym more). Honestly, though, it was great and I love the positive message and the fact that there were so many strong female roles in the movie. I wish I’d seen the original series (maybe my next no-phone night); it makes me wonder if I would have started on my quest to change the world a lot sooner if I had.

For now, I’ll have to settle for saving the world as much as I can with the time I have left. Time to buy a cape!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

