Down & Dirty

Down & Dirty

Today’s post isn’t about the thing that happened that almost made me swear in an email and tell someone fairly important and close to me where she could go. It’s not about the crippling boredom I faced while sitting on endless conference calls today. No, it’s about the good stuff that happened after work. Because thank goodness, there was good stuff in my day too; it wasn’t all awful.

When I got home from work, all I wanted to do was crawl up in a ball and not talk to anyone for weeks. Instead, I changed my clothes and went outside to cut the grass and wack weeds. Interestingly enough, cutting the grass is no longer my most hated thing – I’ve discovered that if someone calls or texts while the lawnmower is running, I can’t hear it and I have a good excuse to miss calls. Provided I’m not officially on-call, that’s kind of my dream situation these days. So cut I did, and things went well until I ran out of weed wacker string and I couldn’t get the cap off (dang previously-broken hands).

As I started to struggle with the wacker, a car drove by my house real slow, then backed up and the person inside stared at me and then they parked. I’ve made practically zero effort to get to know any of my neighbors over the years, so I just expected that the person was lost or selling something. So when a guy came over and asked my name, my brain was screaming, “Scam! Don’t give out any information!” Then he mentioned that I’d spoken to his parents before and he named the only neighbors who have ever been friendly around these parts. Last fall, I’d had a long impromptu conversation with them and the guy promised that he has a “nice Jewish boy who’s around your age; I’ll tell him to stop over and say hi some day.” Well, today was that day, which was fitting because I was dressed for volleyball and I had grass clippings and dirt alllllll over me. I was a hot mess. And yet the neighbor’s son decided it was a good time to come say hi.

Turns out, the conversation was only a little creepy. Once he explained who he was, I remembered the previous conversation with his dad and it wasn’t weird anymore. It was a little strange that he said he’d tried to find me on Facebook before even meeting me, but whatever. He seems like a nice guy, and at least now I know that not everyone in my neighborhood is a total jerk. We ended up talking for a long time, and before I knew it, I had to leave… I had plans for the night!

Plans, meaning sand volleyball started up again. I have to admit, I was not looking forward to our game in the slightest – we had the late game and I felt completely out of shape and I just have a million other things on my mind right now. But that’s the beauty of volleyball for me – it gives me something else to concentrate on, so all the other things going on inside my head have no choice but to go on hold until the game is over. So I had nearly an hour full of a calm mind, and I left the court feeling better than I’ve felt in weeks – simply because I was able to stop thinking for a while. We lost (I mean, we got totally creamed) and I left completely covered in sand (even in my hair… especially in my hair), but we had a lot of fun and it was good to see everyone again since we skipped last season. Bonus: we got hot pink shirts this season, so we’re stylin’. 🙂

So the lesson here is: Be more social with the neighbors and play more volleyball for a more peaceful existence. Maybe if I remember that, I can get back to some normalcy sometime soon.

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Down & Dirty

  1. maryaquino says:

    Two comments:
    1. Wanna come cut my grass now?
    2. My husband does that “look them up on Facebook” thing – I’ve been on Facebook for like…12 years (or whatever) and his go-to thing is to look someone up on Facebook before meeting them to make sure they aren’t a psycho-killer or something (like you’d advertise that on Facebook…) Maybe that’s a guy thing. Not *this girl’s* thing, for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lindsay says:

      Tell ya what, you pay for me to get to you and to stay there, and I’ll cut your grass.
      What’s the deal with the Facebook stalking? I mean, dude literally had to look up my address, find my last name, and then search for me. All for someone he’d never met before. That’s a lot of work for someone to do when they don’t even know if they’ll like a person.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

