The Early Bird Gets The Coffee

The Early Bird Gets The Coffee

Due to an issue with my oral surgeon’s office (such a weird story), I had an appointment with a new oral surgeon today. Unfortunately for me, the office was in Oakland and the appointment was for 7:30 in the morning. Have I mentioned before that I’m not a morning person? I’m oh-so-very-definitely not a morning person. At all. Days should not begin until after 11am, in my opinion. And yet, that was the time that was available, unless I wanted to wait a few more weeks.

So I hauled my lazy, tired butt out of bed, drove to the park-n-ride before 6:45, and made my way into Oakland. Luckily, the appointment started on-time, the staff was nice, and the doctor personable. Plus, the appointment was done way sooner than I’d expected, which meant I had some free time since I’d cleared my calendar and told my boss I’d be in late.

So I did what any other lazy, disgruntled, over-stressed person would do, and I took a long walk through Oakland. At one point, I got hungry and I was getting a headache (hello, caffeine dependency), so I stopped at Redhawk to grab some coffee and something to eat. I was so close to stopping at Pamela’s for strawberry sour cream hotcakes, but I knew I had a junk-filled day ahead of me with lunch at work and also dinner at work for a late meeting. Oh, Pamela’s. I miss you…

In the end, it was kind of nice to have some extra time to myself in the morning. Even though I walked around for over an hour, I still managed to waltz into work barely late at all… which kind of sucked because of the aforementioned late meeting – I was stuck there until 8pm anyway. But I got a nice walk in, and I took some time to read on a bench and enjoyed some coffee al fresco – all pleasant things.

Now if only I could start my workday at, like, 11am, I might be able to do fun things like that all the time… sigh.  🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

