Screw Up

Screw Up

Today was our home fire campaign rally in Turtle Creek, which is uncomfortably close to my house. We met at the local fire department and were split into teams from there; I was with my friend Jim and another person neither of us had ever met.

It was a weird feeling, going door-to-door knocking and asking if we could install smoke alarms. I’m not super-outgoing and I generally prefer to sit with my eyes facing the ground and my mouth shut. I’m really good at being outgoing thanks to work and all my extracurriculars, but if we go back to my default mode, I’m super quiet and withdrawn. There was no place for quiet and withdrawn today, though; both of the guys I was with were experienced and moved us along quickly, so I had to scramble to catch up at times.  I was the official “Documenter,” which is the job for the least-experienced person, but I also got to try my hand at installing the alarms themselves. Hello, power tools!

I think I’d be okay at being an “Installer” next time if need be – I screwed up the screws my first time, but from then on, I did alright. The guy neither of us knew is a very experienced maintenance person, so he showed me the right way to do things. As my friend Dude said, “He taught you how to ‘screw up’… literally.” (I was drilling and screwing holes sideways initially.)

So while it was uncomfortable at first, we ended up having a good day and my team surpassed our installation goals. The fun thing about the home fire campaign is that we could actually be saving lives in the long run – the more homes that have working smoke alarms and the more people who have escape plans, the better prepared our communities are for disasters. (Oh no, I think I’ve drunk the Kool-Aid…)

All in all, it was a good day. Now it’s time to go get some folks drunk at a wedding… 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

