Stupid Girl

Stupid Girl

For weeks (months?), I’ve been running around like a crazy person with some sort of event planned nearly every night. Some nights it’s work. Some other nights it’s fun stuff. Most nights it’s volunteer stuff. With all the different things going on, I haven’t been to Aldi since the one nearest me closed their doors for renovations. Considering I usually shop there several times a week, I feel completely disoriented (and I’m eating take-out more, which I’m not proud of). My store gave out these coupons right before they closed, to help defray the inconvenience of traveling out of the way to buy groceries, and I’ve been desperately waiting for an opportunity to use them.

So tonight, my volunteer meeting only took a little over 2 hours instead of 3+ and I was able to get home a little earlier than expected. Overjoyed, I grabbed the first Aldi coupon I could find and headed out the door. A 20 minute drive later, and I was filling up my reusable totes. My grand total at the register came to almost $45, which met the $30 minimum purchase requirement for the coupon. However, I hadn’t looked at the date on the coupon when I grabbed it at home – I grabbed the first one I could tear off, and it was completely outdated.

The cashier seemed sympathetic and told me I can bring back the receipt with the coupon for a $5 refund, but it’s 20 minutes out of my way… so I let it go. I got home and double-checked the remaining coupons and yep, if I’d only taken the entire sheet with me instead of tearing one off, I would’ve been fine. Stupid, stupid, stupid.

On the plus side, I have food in my house again, and my Aldi withdrawal has subsided. Just under a month to go until my store opens up again!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stupid Girl

  1. Heather of Wishing Wells Life says:

    I honestly have never shopped at Aldi. I know people who do, but I’ve always been scared to! This makes me sorta’ want to try it out! I spend way too much on food!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lindsay says:

      Oh, don’t be scared! Aldi is awesome! The employees are always really friendly (and they’re paid well), the produce is always fresh, and their products are generally the same as brand-name products. Plus, they’re owned by the same parent company as Trader Joe’s!

      Like

      • Heather of Wishing Wells Life says:

        I did not know this!! Thank you for the info! I think i’m going to try it out!

        Like

Leave a Reply

